Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Need opinions! AMD or INTEL, look inside.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-09, 08:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
joewitafro
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
Need opinions! AMD or INTEL, look inside.


Pretty much I am going to be buying a new computer soon, and can't decide what I want to do, the last time I upgraded my computer was probably 4 years ago lol, currently running an x800 pro and amd 64 3000+ 1.6ghz, time to upgrade. The case I will be using is a thermaltake xaser III (getting it for 30 bucks), and arctic cooling freezer 7 Pro, or arctic cooling freezer 64 Pro

Intel setup:

Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066
PC Power & Cooling 750W power supply
western digital 500gig hard drive
BFG Tech GeForce 9800 GTX OC 512MB video card

Total = $536.99 shipped after rebates

AMD setup:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz black edition
Foxconn A7GM-S motherboard
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066
PC Power & Cooling 750W power supply
western digital 500gig hard drive
BFG Tech GeForce 9800 GTX OC 512MB video card

Total = $485 shipped after rebates

What should I go for? I use my computer for gaming. COD4, Counterstrike source, BF2, fallout 3, crysis, etc.. other than that I use it for internet, and messenging/email.

I will like to overclock either setup. I've heard the x2 5400 BE easily goes to 3.2ghz, and the intel can easily go to 3.5ghz.
joewitafro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 10:00 PM   #2
killem2
Member

 
killem2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
I have a feeling the intel setup is going to let you oc much farther I would go with that imo.
killem2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 10:03 PM   #3
jamesman32

 
jamesman32's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Suffield, Connecticut

 
You wont need that PSU at all. I'd get something a bit less powerful, especially considering you wont be crossfiring with that card and motherboard combination. In fact, if you wanted to save a bit more, you could go with an ATi 4850 which will do better in a lot of games anyway, and then get reliable 600-ish watt PSU to save a good chunk of money, allowing you to grab a E8400 for your CPU
jamesman32 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 10:08 PM   #4
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by killem2 View Post
I have a feeling the intel setup is going to let you oc much farther I would go with that imo.
+1, Intel goes up in value the more you overclock. The rest looks solid.


I upgraded from almost the exact same setup as you joewitafro

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 10:11 PM   #5
{PGA}AfterShock
Member

 
{PGA}AfterShock's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1

 
I'd go for the intel setup, X2s aren't very impressive even when overclocked and I did some quick reading and found it doesn't take a miracle to push the E5200 to 4Ghz stable with good air cooling if the mobo allows lots of mem adjustments but Damn AMD for not being worthy enough to recommend anything they have.

__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.4ghz 1.368v
cpu/nb freg 2400mhz 1.20v
HT Freq 2600mhz 1.2v
Corsair H100 <Res Mod>
Asus Sabertooth 990fx
2x4 GB G-Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 7-8-7-24-34 1T 1.6v

EVGA GTX 770 SC 4GB
256GB Samsung 840 Pro
468gig SAMSUNG HD400LJ
NXXT Switch 810
Corsair GS800 PSU
{PGA}AfterShock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 10:17 PM   #6
killem2
Member

 
killem2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
I can vouch for the e8400 if you can get it. I oc'd mine to 4.0 while staying in recommended volts
killem2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 10:34 PM   #7
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
i say wait for some real world tests when AMD's 45nm comes out and decide from there. pretty bleak lookin though.

if your lucky you get a good chip like i do but its still a chore to get to where you want to go.

__________________
Phenom II "X6 1605T" @ 3.00Ghz
Sythe Yasa 6 Pipe Cooler
Biostar TA890FXE
16Gig G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-9-9-25 2T 667Mhz
MSI R7870 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC
Seagate 320Gig 7200.11
Seagate 1024Gig 7200.14
OCZ Stealth X Stream 600
LG LightScribe DVD Burner
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 11:33 PM Thread Starter   #8
joewitafro
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
ok well ive been switching around my stuff using the Intel. I downgraded the powersupply to a 550w rosewill and upgraded the cpu to a E7200. New total is 559 shipped after rebates.

Btw.. there is no 4850 cheaper than what I have in my list. I want to keep this under 600. that E8400 is $170


New list:

Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 Wolfdale 2.53GHz
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066
Rosewill 550W power supply
western digital 500gig hard drive
BFG Tech GeForce 9800 GTX OC 512MB video card
joewitafro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 11:42 PM   #9
slizacker
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany

 
It's worth it for 170, IMO it's worth the 200 dollars extra to go with an E8400 and the HD4850. You also will have the option later to another 4850 and X-fire. I think the setup looks good for now, but I think in the near future you will end up upgrading again anyhow. Also just wondering what kinda monitor you have and what res.

The HD 4850 and the 9800gtx are the same price....


e8400= 151.05

http://www.smksuperstore.com/product...b567fe02173c0e

Last edited by slizacker; 01-02-09 at 11:52 PM.
slizacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-09, 11:50 PM Thread Starter   #10
joewitafro
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
The only reason im upgrading now is the games i play. I just want them to play smoother. I mean i've played cs:s and bf2 in leagues and had no problems, but would like to bump up the settings so i can play some other games easier. I doubt i will go crossfire, or really need the E8400 to overclock to 4ghz. I think the 7200 will be fine and overclock it to 3.5ghz and be happy with it.
joewitafro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 01:25 AM   #11
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
keep an eye on the OCZ stealth x stream PSU's, they usually get really cheap every once in a while any they are decent PSUs

__________________
Phenom II "X6 1605T" @ 3.00Ghz
Sythe Yasa 6 Pipe Cooler
Biostar TA890FXE
16Gig G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-9-9-25 2T 667Mhz
MSI R7870 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC
Seagate 320Gig 7200.11
Seagate 1024Gig 7200.14
OCZ Stealth X Stream 600
LG LightScribe DVD Burner
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 03:48 AM Thread Starter   #12
joewitafro
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
Will do. I think it will be 2 months before i can save up enough, so hopefully prices drop a little bit.. Maybe i'll find a E8400 for $100? hehe
joewitafro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 04:38 AM   #13
Rich'[ard]
Member

 
Rich'[ard]'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melb, AUS

 
well, there's a new cpu that just came out. the e7400
it is priced between the e8400 and e7300, here in Australia anyway.
runs at 2.8ghz and can also reach 4ghz. it's a bit cheaper than the e8400 if you can find one

also, in 2 months time, i'm sure yuo'll be able to git a 4850 into that pricelist. new ATi cards (or updates) are due to come out in the next few months, so prices will drop. also, it's better than the GTX/GTX+ because the card is physically shorter. so you won't run into any case problems (i swear the GTX is like 13") lol.

good luck

EDIT: i forgot, i'd recommend an vx550 or hx 620 PSU from Corsair for your system

__________________
яιн.
Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
Power Corsair HX650
Case Corsair 300R
Windows w7 64bit
Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
HP Folio 13 Ultrabook
Rich'[ard] is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 06:39 AM   #14
Dak9767
Member

 
Dak9767's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dundalk, Maryland

 
Another vote for the intel build.
Dak9767 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 07:39 AM   #15
chadrh
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern NH

 
Intel, and that comes from someone with two AMD boxes in my house.
chadrh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 11:27 AM   #16
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
i would rather have the corsair 450VX power that rig then a rosewill 550watt... that is if your tight on money otherwise the 550VX and 650TX have MIR's for $20-30 at newegg.com

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 02:42 PM Thread Starter   #17
joewitafro
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
is the rosewill not a good PSU? I was looking at a corsair 550w-600w. I dont know how much I need to power this system. I will be running a 500gig hd, and a 80 gig ide, cdrw, and dvd rom. and about 7-8 fans.
joewitafro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 02:54 PM   #18
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
rosewill = bargin bin PSU's, might be good for a really low powered system. most cases the psu wattage rating is done with a really low AMB intake temp. meaning that they could use cold air at like 20-25c vs corsair that has their tested 45-50C for operation at that wattage. it really does make a big difference since after all you psu will be in the case. Over time the air inside the case will get hotter and the psu is sucking that air in to cool it self.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-09, 04:52 PM   #19
diaz
Member

 
diaz's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada

 
Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Antec EA650 650W ATX12V Ver.2.2
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB
MSI N260GTX-T2D896 OC GeForce GTX 260 896MB

Grand Total:* $608.94

This looks better to me...

EDIT: Wayyyyyy better.

-D

__________________
\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<
Main Rig
i5 3570k
EVGA GTX 680

Asus Maximus V Gene mATX
Silverstone TJ08E mATX
16G Corsair Vengeance
Corsair H80

Silverstone Strider Plus 850
Crucial M4 256G SSD // Seagate 750G 7200.12 Storage

Recommended PSU's - True/Tested/***/Intel C2D/Q/X Thermal Designs Explained
Heatware

Last edited by diaz; 01-03-09 at 05:11 PM.
diaz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-09, 02:32 AM Thread Starter   #20
joewitafro
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
thats about 60 more dollars, and is the lowest end 260 video card out.

I think im going to stick with the 9800GTX OC, i really like BFG tech. I just have to decide whether I want the E7200 or E5200. the 7200 has 1 more mb of cache or whatever.. but honestly I just want something that will overclock to 3.5ghz easy and run bf2/cod4/cs:s fast for me.

Hopefully in 2 months I can find a good deal on everything
joewitafro is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?