Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Remove CDFS partition

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-09, 02:22 PM Thread Starter   #1
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Remove CDFS partition


Does anyone know how to remove a CDFS partition on a hard drive?
I was given a Clickfree hard drive that I won't use and would love to format it.
Clickfree is the name of the product. Bascially you plug in the drive it boots up and starts to backup all important data. It has 2 partitions; a FAT32 and a CDFS. I can format the FAT32 partition, but the CDFS partition copies the files to the FAT32 partition automatically everytime I plug it in.
I've tried Partition Magic, Windows disk managment, U3 removal tool and FDISK but they don't work. Here is the Clickfree site for info. http://www.goclickfree.com/
Any ideas?

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-09, 02:29 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
DBAN will take care of it

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-09, 02:42 PM Thread Starter   #3
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
DBAN will take care of it
Thanks I'll give it a try!

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-09, 08:11 PM Thread Starter   #4
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Well I tried DBAN and it doesn't work. It doesnt support USB drives. Does anyone else know of a way to remove a CDFS partition?

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-09, 10:45 PM   #5
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Can you remove the drive from the casing and do it that way? Is it actually part of the drive or part of the controller?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-09, 07:00 AM Thread Starter   #6
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Can you remove the drive from the casing and do it that way? Is it actually part of the drive or part of the controller?
I don't know. I don't even know how to open this thing......

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-09, 07:19 AM   #7
hitokiri_808
Member

 
hitokiri_808's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hawaii

 
How large is the CDFS partition?

__________________

Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
My Heatware
hitokiri_808 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-09, 01:29 PM Thread Starter   #8
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitokiri_808 View Post
How large is the CDFS partition?
It's only 23mb.
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-09, 09:38 AM Thread Starter   #9
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Anyone?

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-09, 06:13 PM   #10
hitokiri_808
Member

 
hitokiri_808's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hawaii

 
Sounds like it might be a part of the firmware ROM. Only thing I can think of is take it apart and see what the HD does by itself.

__________________

Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
My Heatware
hitokiri_808 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-09, 09:55 PM   #11
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
From Linux?

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx bs=512 count=1
Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

Be ABSOLUTELY certain that it's not you OS drive or anything else important. This will wipe out the entire MBR so make sure there's nothing you want to keep on the USB disk.

Make a new partition however you wish, it should use all the available space.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-09, 12:49 PM Thread Starter   #12
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitokiri_808 View Post
Sounds like it might be a part of the firmware ROM. Only thing I can think of is take it apart and see what the HD does by itself.
I took it apart and plugged it straight into a sata port on my computer but the drive won't even boot. The BIOS doesn't even see it.

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-09, 12:49 PM Thread Starter   #13
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
From Linux?

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx bs=512 count=1
Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

Be ABSOLUTELY certain that it's not you OS drive or anything else important. This will wipe out the entire MBR so make sure there's nothing you want to keep on the USB disk.

Make a new partition however you wish, it should use all the available space.
I tried what you said but the end result was the same. Thanks anyways!

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-09, 01:42 PM   #14
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx
Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

This will zero out the entire drive so it will take awhile. I had to do this to get the RAID info off of a couple drives to work on a different controller.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-09, 08:02 PM Thread Starter   #15
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx
Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

This will zero out the entire drive so it will take awhile. I had to do this to get the RAID info off of a couple drives to work on a different controller.
Same thing. It formats the one partition, but not the CDFS partition. I guess it can't be removed. Thanks for everyones help!

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-09, 10:13 AM   #16
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
Weird. I guess I feel a hdd is a hdd, so it should be able to be removed. Maybe you could contact the manufacturer?

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-09, 10:14 AM   #17
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
Weird. I guess I feel a hdd is a hdd, so it should be able to be removed.
Unless it is part of the controller in the external hard drive. Some flash drives are like that.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-09, 11:17 AM   #18
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Unless it is part of the controller in the external hard drive. Some flash drives are like that.
That should have been bypassed when it was plugged directly into the mobo SATA port.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-09, 11:25 AM   #19
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
That should have been bypassed when it was plugged directly into the mobo SATA port.
From what he said, he can't get it to even recognize it. Unless I'm reading this wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmers View Post
I took it apart and plugged it straight into a sata port on my computer but the drive won't even boot. The BIOS doesn't even see it.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-09, 05:23 PM Thread Starter   #20
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
From what he said, he can't get it to even recognize it. Unless I'm reading this wrong?
With the drive by itself (out of the case), it doesn't get recognized by my PC.

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?