Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Few Q's about networking/remote access

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-09, 04:21 PM Thread Starter   #1
stang8118
Member

 
stang8118's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philly, PA

 
Few Q's about networking/remote access


Ok first off I am running 3mb Verizon DSL (not the crap plan, but the next step up since no FIOS in my area yet), and using a few different speed test programs I am getting about 2.8mb worth of bandwidth. Is there anyway to get the extra 200kbs to cap out my speed? I don't mind upgrading my modem if that would help.

Second question is this...

basically I am my families "computer tech", and I am forced to drive to everyone's house all the time it seems. Gets kinda annoying for me, and was hoping I could do any software modifications via remote assistance. I've never used it before, but I have a pretty good understanding of what it does.

How would I go about actually doing it? Like do I need the persons IP address? Do I use software? IDK honestly how to start it lol. I am running Win XP Pro SP3, and my family members are running either XP Home/Pro or Win 2k pro.

__________________
Intel i5 4570 - Asus Z87C - G Skill 2x4gb
Corsair 750w Modular - Antec 300 - ATI HD7850OC

Retired 3dmark Captain
Heatware 110-0-0
stang8118 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-09, 04:47 PM   #2
gangaskan

 
gangaskan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lorain, ohio

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang8118 View Post
Ok first off I am running 3mb Verizon DSL (not the crap plan, but the next step up since no FIOS in my area yet), and using a few different speed test programs I am getting about 2.8mb worth of bandwidth. Is there anyway to get the extra 200kbs to cap out my speed? I don't mind upgrading my modem if that would help.

Second question is this...

basically I am my families "computer tech", and I am forced to drive to everyone's house all the time it seems. Gets kinda annoying for me, and was hoping I could do any software modifications via remote assistance. I've never used it before, but I have a pretty good understanding of what it does.

How would I go about actually doing it? Like do I need the persons IP address? Do I use software? IDK honestly how to start it lol. I am running Win XP Pro SP3, and my family members are running either XP Home/Pro or Win 2k pro.
with remote access, i suguest LOGmein its straightfoward and you dont need to do anything but log in on their machines and install the software off the webstie.


also, with the DSL connection, that extra 200k is possibly overhead or latencies that show it as 2.8Mbit. it can also be the server you're connecting to. i'd say this is pretty normal, i dont expect my full bandwidth but if you're really worried about it then complain alot to verizon

__________________
Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
Heatware
gangaskan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-09, 08:07 PM   #3
ihrsetrdr
Senior Member

 
ihrsetrdr's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: just on the edge of civilization, in the Mojave Desert

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang8118 View Post
basically I am my families "computer tech", and I am forced to drive to everyone's house all the time it seems. Gets kinda annoying for me, and was hoping I could do any software modifications via remote assistance. I've never used it before, but I have a pretty good understanding of what it does.
I don't think that Win 2000 has the built in "remote assistance" such as that of XP. You'd want to set up VPN connect, in which case you would probably have to do the first part of that on their end. I do everyone's computer too, but they gotta bring to me if they want it fixed, period. You might have to put your foot down, on that issue.

Your Verizon bandwidth comes with a "YMMV", not guaranteed. I'm pretty far out from the local Verizon CO, so the 2.8mb I get is actually surprising.

__________________
Folding User Stats

ihrsetrdr aka Tim

Be strong when you are weak, brave when you are scared, and humble when you are victorious.
- Unknown
ihrsetrdr is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?