Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

First MATRIX RAID 0 Setup 2xWD640AALS question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-09, 01:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
First MATRIX RAID 0 Setup 2xWD640AALS question


Hi guys

I got 2 WD640aals drives today to see what the whole Matrix RAID is all about but I have some questions for you... (using all the parts in my sig)

Currently I have it in Native mode not set to RAID or AHCI, but I have a 500G drive in there with a lot of stuff I cant lose. so the question .....

When I change the options in the BIOS to RAID&AHCI will I lose or corrupt any data just chilling in my 500G drive? This is not an os drive just storage of old home movies and photos taken over the years.

I will be testing the RAID setup Vs 150G Raptor for some games and audio and visual production.

Obviously there is a lot to know about this but is there anything I should be aware of that could potentially ruin the data? I have a 1.5 TB drive that I will be using as the backup but thats only once I have built the RAID image.

Thanks in advance guys
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 01:23 AM   #2
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Nope it won't damage the data. It will simply leave it out of the array when you configure it. Do yourself a favor though...for peace of mind. Unplug the power or data cable going to that drive while you're configuring your array.

How ya planning to set it up BTW? 0+1 or 0+0?

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 01:29 AM Thread Starter   #3
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
Hi TimoneX

Thanks for the reassurance, well I plan to have it RAID 0 all the way, and see what performance I can get out of the suckers. Any suggestions on the setup? I'll have 150GB Raptor for OS and Games, RAID 0 say 150GB slice for my "work" OS and Audio visual production and stuffing around with VMware. I'll have the 1.5TB drive for backup, although recent posts on these forms should have made me choose another drive but then again, who would you go for?

Thanks once again
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 01:41 AM   #4
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Sounds like you got a good plan there. I think you'll find the WDs will put a lickin' on the single raptor in STR. If you go w/ a 150GB matrix slice first latency should be pretty similar between the two.

There's a 2GB WD Green just announced and the 500GB/platter Seagate 7200.12s are on their way as well. I know the single platter 500GB is already available at newegg. Surely a 4 platter 2GB monster can't be far off. I haven't been pleased with Seagate drives since the 7200.10s so I haven't upgraded since. I'm taking a wait & see attitude on the 7200.12s.

Post up some results when you're done, should prove interesting.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 09:33 AM   #5
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
i think most drives in matrix will put the hurt on raptors in str, even with dual drives in raid, seek time is pretty much where they own. im glad to see the velociraptors are now sata300.

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ Stock+Turbo /Corsair H100
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 133/3204/3204
6x2gb @ 667mhz 6-8-6-24 1.6v
Asus GTX 580 DCII @ Stock
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 08:51 PM Thread Starter   #6
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
May I ask which imagehosts are allowed here at overclockers? I would like to post some pics of my findings but dont want to do anything that might get me kicked or banned? Is there an additional forum I should be reading ?
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 09:39 PM   #7
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I use either one of my ISPs, photobucket, or just hit the attach and upload here.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-17-09, 02:10 AM Thread Starter   #8
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
here is the first test of the raptor HDD - does this look about right ?

http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...torhdtune1.jpg

Last edited by Q6600FIEND; 01-17-09 at 02:17 AM.
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-17-09, 09:41 AM   #9
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Looks like you have volume write-back caching disabled in the Intel Matrix storage console. Enable that monkey and lessee what they can do!

You're set to ignore PMs BTW.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-09, 07:52 AM Thread Starter   #10
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
No worries, thanks for the heads up.

Where did you see that that I have it disabled, or is it seen in the results. Cause I dont think I have the intel matrix storage installed when I took that screen shot. Thanks for the help. Will move into gear and get some results asap.
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-09, 11:38 PM Thread Starter   #11
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
Updated - Finally


Im impressed with these results so far. The screen shot is of the 2 x 640G drives

OS partition 150G
1st run
Name:  2nd Run 150GB.JPG
Views: 150
Size:  67.6 KB
2nd run
Name:  3rd Run 150GB.JPG
Views: 153
Size:  67.6 KB

Data Partition 1000G

Name:  1st Run 1000GB.JPG
Views: 148
Size:  66.9 KB

And a New Seagate 1.5 TB drive
Name:  1st Run 1500GB no cache.JPG
Views: 151
Size:  63.2 KB

I like how fast the OS is now, this ICHR9 is really something. This was just a quick setup and test and there's probably things I can do better, can I ask you guys to have a look at what I can change if it can be changed to get better results? I need to find out about aligning the array ? Is this a concern?
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-09, 11:54 PM   #12
Vengance_01
Member

 
Vengance_01's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Corona, CA

10 Year Badge
 
great results.

__________________
Workstation and Mobile Workstation

Dell XPS 1330:
Core 2 T7500, 3GB Ram, 320GB HD, 13.3 LED, 8400GS, 20inch Dell 2007WFP When at Home.
Vengance_01 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 12:20 AM   #13
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Very nice 8ms access time on a raid stripe, that is going to make your raptor obsolete

I would not worry about matrix raid since you are running separate backup drives anyway.

(Matrix raid is just the ability to mix types of raid arrays on the same hard drives, IE Having a striped partition and a mirrored partition on the same 2 HDDS. Hence the name Matrix)

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 12:36 AM Thread Starter   #14
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
Thanks NeurO

Yeah, not sure what to do with the raptor now but if I where to get a third 640G drive can I expect to have even better seek times if I stripe across all three but keep the os partition size around 150G?
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 09:02 AM   #15
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Yes but not that much better.

(Law of diniminshing returns)

Since you would be basically using the first 25GB of every platter in a 3 drive setup.. Or the outer 1/6 of the platter as far as density goes (much less then 1/6th in diameter)

I wonder why hdd manufacturers have not started building striped multiplatter hard drives yet to compete with the MLC flash drives.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 09:24 AM   #16
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
Curious what your boot times (and what OS) are looking like one that array. Was thinking about doing it myself, but never see boot/program launch times listed (particularly vs a single drive.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q6600FIEND View Post
Thanks NeurO

Yeah, not sure what to do with the raptor now but if I where to get a third 640G drive can I expect to have even better seek times if I stripe across all three but keep the os partition size around 150G?
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-09, 09:14 AM Thread Starter   #17
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
I shall post some time trials asap

1 x 150G Raptor Vs 2 x 640G WD AALS

Can you suggest some other tests that might be of intrest?

And one more question, if I may? Do I need to be concerned about aligning the drives for RAID?

Last edited by Q6600FIEND; 03-23-09 at 09:22 AM. Reason: one more question for tonight
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-09, 08:56 AM   #18
Jeppesen
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2009

 
3x640GB WD AALS 180GB RAID0 Short-stroking array on a ICH10R Matrix controller.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=599488
Jeppesen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-09, 09:51 AM   #19
Lukee
Member



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miami, FL

 
Quick question. I created my raid 0 array to include all the space on both 300 GB VRs. I have since decided that I want to created a 150 GB OS partition and then use the rest for programs.

I don't want to reinstall everything.. can I use ghost 14 and make a backup of the C: drive.. then just restore it to the new partition?
Lukee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-09, 04:53 AM Thread Starter   #20
Q6600FIEND
Registered

 
Q6600FIEND's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia

 
Thanks Jeppesen

I'll give that a go and post the results asap
Q6600FIEND is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?