• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob overclocker here. Need help with the q9550

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

alan_carter

Hi, im new in the forum and im also new at overclocking. I just bought things already overclocked. But i bought an acer predator gaming pc. I overclocked the 9800 gtx sli with evga precision. Now i want to overclock the cpu, a intel core 2 quad q9550 to aprox 3.5 ghz, and the 8 gig memory ddr2 to 1066. The cpu is liquid cooled. I get to the bios, frequencys, and i change the fsb clock from 333 to 375. I restart, and using cpuz i see that its running at stock speeds. I think that the voltages are auto on this pc. The psu is a delta electronics 750 w, and the mobo an nvidia nforce 780i Sli

:welcome: to the forum!

Can you post up a screenie of that CPUz shot?

Sure it's not failing the OC and reverting to default FSB setting?

Here it is. One question, do i have to overclock the motherboard to overclock cpu? And finally, i tried overclocking cpu with ntune, and when i move the fsb bar, the 8.5x multiplier, turns back to 6.0 multiplier. And when i apply the overclock selected on ntune, the pc freezes and i hav to restart.

Attachments

• acer (2).jpg
    acer (2).jpg
    46.8 KB · Views: 438
Yes you do have to overclock the board to overclock the CPU. The Q9550 is multi locked at 8.5 so the only way to get more juice is to boost the FSB. I suggest starting small and in the BIOS not nTune. Get yourself a memtest86+ CD burned up and switch to boot from CD first. Change FSB in the BIOS to 353 from the default 333 and boot from the memtest86+ CD. When it comes up it will tell you your clockspeed and the default timings of your ram at that speed.

Memtest86 isnt for x86 system?, 32 bits one. I hav vista 64, may i download memtest64?