Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

9800 GTX+ FPS WoW Problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-09, 08:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
dk08
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
9800 GTX+ FPS WoW Problem


Hello, a relative noob to building computers here. My buddy (who has built quite a few pcs on his own) and I recently put together my new rigg. I got this computer specifically for an upgrade on gaming. It seems that something is wrong. My friend recently bought an identical rig and is getting up to 150fps while in the same areas with the same settings i am at 60 MAX! I am wondering what i can do to possibly increase my performance.

My specs are currently...
processor - Q6600 2.4 intel quad core
ram - ddr2 1066 4gig dominator corsair
video card - EVGA 9800 GTX+ superclocked edition
mobo - EP45-UD3R gigabyte
PS - 650 antec

any help is greatly appreciated! I have not touched settings as far as OCing or anything of that nature.
dk08 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:01 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
You are CPU limited. My QX9650 @ 4.0 still hurts my fps.

On an unrelated note, I'm healing Heroic Violet Hold right now >.>

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:10 PM Thread Starter   #3
dk08
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
So is there nothing i can do to improve my performance?
dk08 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:11 PM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dk08 View Post
So is there nothing i can do to improve my performance?
Quote:
You are CPU limited.
Overclock your CPU...

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:15 PM Thread Starter   #5
dk08
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
I understand that, but it doesnt add up to me that my friend is running an identical rig not over clocked at all but getting much better fps results =(
dk08 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:17 PM   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dk08 View Post
I understand that, but it doesnt add up to me that my friend is running an identical rig not over clocked at all but getting much better fps results =(
To compare, you have to have the same or no addons and have *exactly* the same video settings. You also need to check programs running in the background, etc.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:19 PM   #7
SeanBest
Member

 
SeanBest's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Harrisonburg, VA

 
Make sure your video sync isn't on, that would limit it to 60 fps.

__________________
HEAT
Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64
SeanBest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-09, 09:22 PM Thread Starter   #8
dk08
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
i dont have vertical sync on in game. is that what you are referring to sean?
dk08 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?