Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

avg free scan

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-09, 09:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
kevlar93
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
avg free scan


My scan just finished and i got 174 warnings. They were all tracker cookies.


what is it from. I was not doing anything unusual. FB, google, news, OCF, Newegg, etc.

this was one of them

"Object name";"C:\Documents and Settings\XXXXX\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ha61b7as.default\coo kies.sqlite"
kevlar93 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-09, 10:24 PM   #2
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
always set your cookies to custom like the pic
You'll never have a problem ever again, second you now will have the option to accept the cookies or not
Its hard to see what the cookie is from need a bigger pick or write the cookie
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-09, 10:45 PM Thread Starter   #3
kevlar93
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
thank you i set ff to block all cookies.

i wrote an example of one at the bottom of the first post.
kevlar93 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 04:22 AM   #4
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
also change the update webpage to everyvisit of webpage it should be by default auto
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 04:32 AM   #5
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
1. CCleaner to get rid of nasty cookies: http://www.ccleaner.com/download/builds.aspx

2. Avira AntiVir freeware anti virus, accept no substitutions:
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=570753
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 11:49 AM Thread Starter   #6
kevlar93
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
So i should just remove avg and use Avira?
kevlar93 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 11:55 AM Thread Starter   #7
kevlar93
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
what settings should i set it too? is there an option to scan every day at a time?
kevlar93 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 12:03 PM   #8
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, because we found Avira to detect more virii.

Just read the thread to find out how to get rid of nag screens that Avira free version has.


And use ccleaner to get rid of cookies that bother you.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 01:14 PM   #9
corruption
Member

 
corruption's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Paget, Bermuda (Until I can get back to Halifax, NS or get my fiancee to Bermuda)

 
Avira's free antivirus scanner has no antispyware support. AVG free does. What you are seeing as "Warnings" are not actual infections on your machine. They may contain information that you do not wish to share though...such as credit card numbers, which spyware may exploit. I personally prefer AVG, but to each his own.

__________________
q6600 - 3.6 @ 1.525v (bios)
ASUS P5K Premium/WiFi-AP
4GB PC2 6400 - Generic Transcend
EVGA 460 GTX EE 1024MB - stock atm...
Western Digital 250GB SATA - 7200rpm 8MB cache
2x Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA - Raid0
OCZ 520W PSU
Water cooling - MCP600, Apogee GT, MCW60, Swiftech MicroRes, BIP3

"Don't start a fight with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."
corruption is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 02:03 PM   #10
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
I nuke my operating system partition routinely with a clean drive image as soon as I even think something's dodgy but what separate spyware software is good these days since it used to be that using separate spyware and separate antivirus products offered the best protection.

I notice that Avira Antivir intercepts Internet Explorer / Firefox cache nasties so there is a kind of browsing protection it seems.


For the record, I would have no problems ditching Avira if AVG's virus definitions were anywhere near as good, I test them personally every once in a while just to see if they improved and AVG still does not detect dangerous backdoor Trojans that Avira catches, on top of which the number of false positives is still high with AVG.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 03:05 PM Thread Starter   #11
kevlar93
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
can i use both?
kevlar93 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-09, 03:12 PM   #12
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Do not use two Antivirus programs at the same time. Be sure to uninstall the first one completely before installing another one or the conflicts may mess up your system, I found that out the hard way .
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?