• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I have some questions about temps/ hardware monitors.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cvriv.charles

Hi:) My name is Charles and I just got done building a watercooled machine. It's my first time watercooling. I am curious about my temps. First, my rig:

PC Components:
MB: EVGA 132-YW-E180-A1 nForce 790i,
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300,
RAM: GSKILL DDR3 1333 4GB,
VC: 2 x EVGA 9800GTX,
SC: SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro,
PSU: Corsair 750TX,
HDD: Samsung 500GB,
C:CM Cosmos,
KB: X6,
M: X5

Watercooling Components:
RAD: BIX III Extreme
PUMP: Laing D5
CPU WB: Swiftech Apogee GTZ
NB & SB WB: BitsPower N790NS
VC WB: Swiftech Obisidian
RES: BitsPower 5.25 Bay
FANS: 8 x 120mm Yate Loon 88.9cfm
LOOP ID: 1/2"

Now. My temps. I'm running both SpeedFan and CPUID and both are reporting the same temps. Good.

First,... the videocards are reporting 29c - 30c each at idle. Thats fine.

Next, the cpu. Well,... here's what I dont understand. Both monitors have a cpu temp and core temps. The CPU temp says 34c at idle and the core temps 0 - 3 are reporting, 44c 41c 44 52c. Whats what? I mean it seems pretty obvious where cpu means the cpu temp and the core temps are teh temps for each core. But how is cpu 29c - 30c and the cores are 41c - 52c? And 41c - 52c,... isnt that a bit hot for for idle temps? Seeing that the cpu is watercooled.

Also,... theres a system temp too thats reporting 85c at idle!!! 85c? Thats hot. What is it though? My NB? SB? Both? It cant be. I am thinking that maybe it's my mainboard mosfets? When I was torture testing the rig using Prime95 the system temp went to 88c. I stuck my hand inside the case and felt the mosfet heatsink and it was hot. The only thing that could be 88c in that case.