• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PC vs. Console

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cashboxer

Registered
I am a graphics designer and don't play games at all, but was wondering what the difference between the 2 are? I know I can google it, but I wanted to hear from you guys about the pro's and con's.

Consoles would have cost as a pro and a con, you can get a ps3 for $400 that will play all the new games released for it but you also cant upgrade the performance and need a new console every few years. PCs have high costs to first build a good gaming rig but can be upgraded for quite a while.
Pc's can also play games at a higher quality if its good enough, as well as a higher resolution.
Consoles dont have to worry about viruses or optimizing your install by disabling services, or installing games to paly them etc. Theres more but i cant think of them atm lol

pc's just have greater choice in terms of hardware. i could have a whole range of controllers to choose from, all with different designs and button mapping, and there are even hacks to allow original games console controllers to work, as well as unconventional devices (for a while i was actually using my ds lite as a controller over wifi).

pc startup costs, yes, but you could build a new pc for the price of this generation's launch consoles.

I think First person shooters and real time strategy games are best one PC because of the versatility of the mouse and keyboard. All other games can be for the console. As PC's get more powerful and coding for an emulator of a system gets more efficient then those older consoles can be played comfortably on the PC, i.e. SNES.

Pro: can play any game that comes out for it better quality through tv than screen unless you plug a tv into your computer