Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Blank Monitor

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-09, 06:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
slugshot_90
Registered

 
slugshot_90's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Blank Monitor


for som reason the monitor on my pc stays blank when i power it on, it was running fine today and then i opened it up and put a new cpu in it and then when i went to turn it back on the pc powers up. the mouse turns on but the monitor stays blank and the keyboard does not turn on, usually the monitor goes from a orange light to a green, but it just stays orange, i tried replugging everything and even going back to the old cpu. but still nothing, anyone know how to fix this, it happened to me a long time ago and i really dont remember how i got to work
slugshot_90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-09, 08:15 PM   #2
SeasonalEclipse
Member

 
SeasonalEclipse's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006

 
Try clearing the BIOS with jumpers on the board and see where that gets you.

__________________

The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210
SeasonalEclipse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-09, 10:11 PM   #3
don256us

 
don256us's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bridgman, MI

10 Year Badge
 
I had the exact same thing happen to me today. When I pulled my vid card, I found that one of the solid caps were blown. RMA town for me.

You need feed back from your motherboard. Get a speaker plugged in so you can hear the beep code.

__________________
Core i7-920 @ 3.66 | EVGA X58 SLI | 2x 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD RAID 0 | 1.5 TB WD Green | 6x4GB DDR3 1600 CAS 8 |2 X R9 280XFolding
AMD 1035T X6 | Win 7 Pro |Zalman 7000 Cu | DDR3 1333 (16 GB) | 500 GB SATA x 2 | 240 GT | Not folding.
AMD Athlon II x3 440 @ x4 B40 | Win SBS 2008 | 120 GB | DDR3 1600 (4 GB) | ATI 4200 | 2 x DVD-DL | Folding.


Folding User Stats
My Heatware
Fold for team 32.
don256us is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 11:44 AM Thread Starter   #4
slugshot_90
Registered

 
slugshot_90's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse View Post
Try clearing the BIOS with jumpers on the board and see where that gets you.
what do you mean by this,and also i tried to turn it on and plug speakers hin to hear the beep but there was no sound, i tried headphones also and still no sound. if it helps at all, when i turn the monitor on the light goes green for like 2 sec then it makes a click noise and it goes orange and thats it
slugshot_90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 12:26 PM   #5
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
Find the manual to your motherboard and look for the CMOS reset jumper. It is a little jumper that you have to pull off of two pins and put them onto the next pin set over for about 10 seconds. You then put the jumper back onto the original pins and that's it. You should pull the battery for about a minute also and that will set your BIOS back to original settings. The speaker he is referring to is for the motherboard, not the system speakers. Like this.. http://www.cwc-group.com/casp.html.. If you look in your manual you should find a connection for a MB speaker.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 12:33 PM   #6
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Yah motherboard speaker.

There are a number of cause for this situation

Bad video cable. (swap cable)

Bad Video card (swap video card for an old PCI card if you have one laying around)

Insufficient power to video card (Check PCIE connector)

Bad memory (try running one stick, no boot, remove and install other single stick, put one stick in 4th slot and cycle power)

Bad motherboard (If all other components are working than it leaves only the brain)


I am leaning towards the last since your KB does not light up. Hopefully CMOS reset will help solve situation

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 07:03 PM Thread Starter   #7
slugshot_90
Registered

 
slugshot_90's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
well i tried the cmos reset and it didnt do anything also there is no sound coming from the MOBO speaker, its just silence
slugshot_90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-09, 08:10 PM Thread Starter   #8
slugshot_90
Registered

 
slugshot_90's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
So I'm guessing that since the keyboard speaker isn't working then the mobo is dead
slugshot_90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-09, 08:22 PM   #9
Mr.DLucey
Member

 
Mr.DLucey's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Unplug the power to the power supply.
Theirs a small battery on your motherboard, remove it (if you have a volt meter make sure it has voltage like 1.5v).
Remove and reinstall the memory.
Remove and reinstall the video card.
Set the CMOS jumper to clear the CMOS.
Leave it sit over night.
Reinstall the battery, move the jumper back and plug it in.

__________________
E6600 @2.99GHz - DFI Infinity P965 Dark - 4GB PC6400 - WD 300GB Raptor - WD 74GB Raptor - Radeon HD 3850 256MB - Vista Business
E6420 @2.13GHz - Asrock 4Core DualVSTA - 4GB PC 6400 - WD 120GB IDE - Sapphire HD 3850 512MB - XP Home
Mr.DLucey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-09, 06:13 AM Thread Starter   #10
slugshot_90
Registered

 
slugshot_90's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
tried it and still no luck. So I'm leaning toward it's a bad mobo
slugshot_90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?