Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Steam problem, I put wrong age and now it won't let me pre-order lol

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-09, 08:35 AM Thread Starter   #1
technoViking
Member

 
technoViking's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

 
Steam problem, I put wrong age and now it won't let me pre-order lol


Anyone know hwo to reset the cookies in Steam? I went to go pre-order Dawn of war II and it asked my birth date and I put my year as 1999. So it said I can't access this page so I can't pre-order.

I figure if i can't find a way to clear the cookies/cache I will just go to another computer download steam and pre-order it from there then downlaod it on this computer.

__________________
Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
Sound
: .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
PSU: .........Enermax 460W
Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

One must remember...
The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!
technoViking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 08:41 AM   #2
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
Clear internet explorer cookies? It uses the same back-end, so maybe the cookies are stored there?

1999 eh? So that makes you one of them whiny 9 year olds who voice is so high...

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 10:38 AM   #3
wrxxx
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Indiana

 
lol i did this with fallout 3's website. it wouldn't let me log on to the website for a month. resetting the cookies didnt work for me.

__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ06B-W
CPU: Intel I7 920
GPU: XFX 9800GTX+, XFX 9800GTX+
Ram: 3x Corsair xms3 2gigs 1600mhz
Mobo: EVGA X58 SLI
PSU: Antec Neo Power 500w, FSP Group BoosterX GPU PSU
HDD: WD 750gig sata, WD 250gig sata,
LCD: NEC 70gx2 17"
Sound: SupremeFX Audio Card 8 Channel
Cooling: ZALMAN CNPS 9500 AM2
wrxxx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 10:41 AM   #4
killuazaoldyeck
Member

 
killuazaoldyeck's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: So-Cal

 
what are you using? IE, google chrome or firefox? if you use IE, then try Firefox, or GC.
killuazaoldyeck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 01:05 PM   #5
Red_LightRanger
Member

 
Red_LightRanger's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
maybe its a sign that you shouldnt order it!
Try clearing temp files too.

__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------
Desktop
Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
Corsair H70
Asus P8P67
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage
Red_LightRanger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 01:44 PM Thread Starter   #6
technoViking
Member

 
technoViking's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

 
Yah, nothing seemed to work, cleared everything from IE (yah Steam does use IE as the default and i don't see an option to change it to firefox). But clearing cache, temp files, cookies, etc, still won't leg me log in, I'll just download it from another computer

__________________
Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
Sound
: .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
PSU: .........Enermax 460W
Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

One must remember...
The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!
technoViking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 01:46 PM   #7
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
try c cleaner?

www.ccleaner.com

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-09, 01:52 PM Thread Starter   #8
technoViking
Member

 
technoViking's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

 
I'm downloading and running it now to see what happens

EDIT: Imposter, thanks man, it worked! WOOO!

__________________
Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
Sound
: .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
PSU: .........Enermax 460W
Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

One must remember...
The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!
technoViking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-09, 03:28 PM   #9
sandyduff
Great Scot! Member

 
sandyduff's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!

 
I just did the same thing... a quick google and it takes me here!! Wooo!!

Edit: I put my DOB as September 11th... 2009... according to Steam i don't exist yet...

__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
MSI 7990 Liquid Cooled
850w Akasa Venom
1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

"we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead
sandyduff is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-11, 11:58 AM   #10
1980
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011

 
Just go to: C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Te mporary Internet Files and remove all files. Restart steam, it should work.
1980 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-11, 01:28 PM   #11
RADIO_ACTIVE
Member

 
RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
I have done this before and just deleting/clearing saved data and cookies in your default browser should do it with a restart of Steam. You may want to exit steam before doing so and then restart after you have deleted everything.

__________________
CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
PSU: Kingwin 1000w
CHASIS: Antec 900 two
RADIO_ACTIVE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-11, 01:59 PM   #12
Lennan
Registered

 
Lennan's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyduff View Post
I just did the same thing... a quick google and it takes me here!! Wooo!!

Edit: I put my DOB as September 11th... 2009... according to Steam i don't exist yet...
not to call you guys necromancers or anything. but yeah. this is a 2 year old thread.
I think he figured it out.
Lennan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-11, 02:35 PM   #13
Lukee
Member



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miami, FL

 
ROFLMAO
Lukee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-13, 01:34 AM   #14
Zelmoquad
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2013

 
For Windows 7 (and Vista and XP)just shutdown Steam, all the way. Close the icon in the tray to the Right side of you task bar. That's all you need to do. No need to clear your browser/cookies or temp internet files.
Zelmoquad is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?