Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

No LAN connections available

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-09, 03:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
him_damian
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
Unhappy No LAN connections available


hi i am having this strange problem...
after rebooting my PC today, suddenly i couldnt find any LAN connection icon in the taskbar. I dont have any PCI lan card, using the onboard one.
i checked my network connections, and there was no Local area connection icon, only the 1394 connection. the lan cable is plugged in on the motherbnoard, and the port is blinking. Also the port on my modem is showing data transfer on.
tried reinstalling the drivers from my motherboard CD, but in vain.

Also, my BIOS is not showing anything about LAN connection in the on-board peripherals part. Thus i cannot check wether its enabled or disabled.

In the device manager, there is no other network adapter than the 1394 adapter, hence, the troubleshoot doesnt work.

i am unable to connect to the internet as i use the LAN to connect to it.


PLEASE HELP !!!!
him_damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-09, 03:35 PM   #2
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Do you have any yellow question marks in the device manager? What motherboard are you using? Most likely either the driver was corrupted or something happened to the NIC hardware.

Oh, and welcome to OCForums

__________________
Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-09, 03:56 PM Thread Starter   #3
him_damian
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
Do you have any yellow question marks in the device manager? What motherboard are you using? Most likely either the driver was corrupted or something happened to the NIC hardware.

Oh, and welcome to OCForums
THANKS for da welcome...

i do not have any yellow question marks in device manager. the thing is, it was showing my lan adapter until yesterday, but today there is only the 1394 adapter....

like my whole hardware is missing. no change even after installing the drivers....

my motherboard is asus m3n78-em

Last edited by him_damian; 02-19-09 at 03:56 PM. Reason: update
him_damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-09, 04:50 PM   #4
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
In the BIOS go to the Advanced tab, Chipset, Southbridge Configuration. There should be a selection to make sure the Onboard LAN is Enabled (page 2-29 in the manual).

__________________
Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-09, 11:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
him_damian
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
In the BIOS go to the Advanced tab, Chipset, Southbridge Configuration. There should be a selection to make sure the Onboard LAN is Enabled (page 2-29 in the manual).

i did find the bios settings.... they r set to 'enabled'
but still... no network card detected...
him_damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-09, 08:53 AM   #6
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Have you tried doing a nforce driver update to see if the LAN is detected after that?
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

If you still can't see it after that, I'm guessing you may need to RMA the board.

__________________
Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-09, 09:59 AM   #7
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Have you scanned for hardware changes from device manager? Highlight your computer name there, then go to actions>scan for hardware changes. This is supposed to detect installed hardware that is not being recognized.

Otherwise, run a diagnostic of some sort. If your manufacturer provides one, that would be best, otherwise you may try something like PC doctor. It would be interesting to see if that detects a malfunctioning device at all.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?