Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Windows 7 x64 compatible Ram Disk?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-09, 08:17 AM Thread Starter   #1
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Windows 7 x64 compatible Ram Disk?


As the title. I can't seem to find a decent proggie that works with 7 x64. Hoping someone's done some legwork here. Yes I am lazy, I did google it though...many times in many ways. I tried a few different proggies, but most wouldn't install, the couple that did(old) wouldn't function.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 10:41 AM   #2
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimoneX View Post
As the title. I can't seem to find a decent proggie that works with 7 x64. Hoping someone's done some legwork here. Yes I am lazy, I did google it though...many times in many ways. I tried a few different proggies, but most wouldn't install, the couple that did(old) wouldn't function.
http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=25139 I was told this workz wiff win7 and 64
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 10:44 AM   #3
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomerpile View Post
http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=25139 I was told this workz wiff win7 and 64
From what I can tell, that just mounts drives, that isn't what he is looking for.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 10:59 AM   #4
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
From what I can tell, that just mounts drives, that isn't what he is looking for.
If I'm not mistaking ram drive software is slowly being fazed out with Image drive, Nero had ram drive in this software but that too been replaced with Image drive.
I could be wrong, unless you want to take some of your ram and make a ram drive. batch file script will do that.
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:01 AM   #5
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomerpile View Post
I could be wrong, unless you want to take some of your ram and make a ram drive. batch file script will do that.
There is no Windows built in one. Well, there is, but you wouldn't be able to store anything worthwhile on it.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:04 AM   #6
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
There is no Windows built in one. Well, there is, but you wouldn't be able to store anything worthwhile on it.
Its called shadowcopy service same thing as way back the dos command of shadow
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:19 AM   #7
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Your looking for software to take certian amout of disk to = ram right. Image drive does that too. PowerISO I hear work. Like your virtual memory.
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:20 AM Thread Starter   #8
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah I'm already running elaborate byte's clonedrive.

I know they're not as popular as they once were, but I sill want one to fiddle with. Ramdisk plus works for vista x64, but refuses to install under 7 unfortunately. I'd rather not mess with dos scripts, but I guess if that's the only option...

Thanx for the input guys. At least firefox makes it easy to move it's cache to ram.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:24 AM   #9
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomerpile View Post
Its called shadowcopy service same thing as way back the dos command of shadow
Unless I'm misunderstanding what the OP wants, that just makes a copy of files so that you can back them up; that isn't what he wants.

EDIT: According to the first post, he wants a RAM drive. From what you guys are talking about, you want a virtual drive to mount images?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:30 AM   #10
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Just want to mention I too am having some install issues with window7 and image/ram drive software
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:33 AM   #11
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
have you tried any virtual memory mangers or agents
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 11:41 AM Thread Starter   #12
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Nope not yet. My intent is simply to decrease the number of small file writes to an inexpensive SSD array by caching more data to ram. I've run through and disabled indexing service, defragging, set pagefile to 200 initial and max, and initially I disabled superfetch and cleared the cache, but it didn't seem to hurt anything to have it on, so I set it to fetching only boot files. As I said I moved FF's cache to ram and things are pretty smooth. At this point I think it's just a tinkerfest, but it's a ridiculously cold snowy day in MI and well...this is *THE* thing to be doing just now.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 12:40 PM   #13
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
the good old days when it was easy
DOS=HIGH,UMB
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE NOEMS
anyways theres some good information and codes/scripts available that may be just what your looking for. Search for virtual memory scripts/c++codes MS is offering a suite of stuff that can make your programing of this easy.
I'm in the same vote waiting for winter to end to get back to work.
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 12:48 PM Thread Starter   #14
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I dunno I recall some pretty annoying fights with software whilst trying to free up enough of that precious 640k to get a program to run. The good old days weren't always good. Don't miss DOS much.

Thanks, I'll look around!

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-09, 01:28 PM   #15
gomerpile
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Im testing the beta out now and it would be something you would be looking
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ent...cts/med-v.aspx
gomerpile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-09, 12:46 PM   #16
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Ahh, RAMDRIVE.SYS

It'd be helpful to have a list of software that you've tried and known not to work so that I can better scour the tubes In the past I've used both Q-Soft Ramdisk and "ramdisk" (both claiming to be at least Vista compatible) with pretty good luck. There is also Cenatek Ramdisk (the page looks broken, but the download page is up), and SuperSpeed RamDisk 9.

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-09, 01:11 PM Thread Starter   #17
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Unfortunately none of them seem to be compatible with WIN7 x64. I'll keep fiddling with them.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-09, 09:00 AM Thread Starter   #18
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I increased the NTFS filesystem cache and it seems to be using ALL available memory effectively now. This is all I was really looking for. Thanx for the input guys!

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-29-09, 01:07 PM   #19
RMSe17
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2009

 
Cool


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimoneX View Post
As the title. I can't seem to find a decent proggie that works with 7 x64. Hoping someone's done some legwork here. Yes I am lazy, I did google it though...many times in many ways. I tried a few different proggies, but most wouldn't install, the couple that did(old) wouldn't function.
http://members.fortunecity.com/ramdi...ramdiskent.htm

Works on my Windows 7 Ultimate x64

The program costs, though I am not sure if it is 1 set price (it is listed as forced donation, with implied cost, and I dont know if you can donate less). I figure it is worth the price (12$ suggested for 64bit no support, 25$ suggested for 64bit with support and free updates) because of all the tools and functionality it comes with. It is loaded as a driver/service, so you get the ram drive before windows logs in or creates/uses swap file.

I personally use it for my page file, so that windows is using my physical ram whether it wants to or not Since once you have 4GB or more, you can easily allocate 1-2GB to ram drive, and have a page file sitting on ram drive.

RMSe17
RMSe17 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?