Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

question on amd boards (nvidia or amd chipset) with onboard video and PCIe 16x slot

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-09, 06:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
jarthel
Member

 
jarthel's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
question on amd boards (nvidia or amd chipset) with onboard video and PCIe 16x slot


Is it possible to use the onboard video and PCIe 16s slot at the same time? I'm planning to install a raid card on the PCIe 16s slot.

thank you
jarthel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-28-09, 11:00 AM   #2
mercalf
Member

 
mercalf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Florida

 
Is the question: is it possible to use the on-board video AND a PCIe video card?

If that's the question, then I don't believe so (for sure NOT in Vista) - unless they use the same video drivers and what not. I actually tried this myself in trying to get a 3rd monitor working and it failed to the extreme....

__________________
|-------------------[RamBox]-----------------|
Storage............................Hitachi 1TB SATA II
CPU..........AMD Phenom II x4 Deneb Black Edition(stock 3.0GHz)
Heatsink..........................Zalman CNPS8700
Memory.........16GB HyperDrive / OCZ Reaper 4GB DDR2 8500
Mobo............................DFI LanParty JR 790GX
GPU..................2x BFG nVIDIA 9800GTs O.C. 2GB DDR3
PSU...........................Corsair 620HX 620W Modular
Barracks.......................NZXT Rogue Crafted Series
mercalf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-09, 09:25 PM   #3
Sgt_Pinto
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia

 
if your going to use the pcie 16 slot for a raid card, not a video card, its should be fine.

__________________

Monitor: 19" Samsung 940n
CPU: 5200+x2 @ 3.25ghz
Graphics: 9600GSO 384mb
Mobo: Gigabyte MA790FX-DQ6
RAM: 2x2gb ram.
HDD: 250gb+500gb
PSU: SuperFlower True Power 500w


HeatWare:http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60405
Sgt_Pinto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 04:09 AM   #4
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Agreed!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercalf View Post
Is the question: is it possible to use the on-board video AND a PCIe video card?

If that's the question, then I don't believe so (for sure NOT in Vista) - unless they use the same video drivers and what not. I actually tried this myself in trying to get a 3rd monitor working and it failed to the extreme....
That's the way I understand it as well. The 790GX IGP will run "Hybrid" X-fire with an HD32xx or HD34xx only ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 04:16 AM   #5
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I think hes just talking about installing a raid card in the 16x slot (why? when 4x would be fine)...but yes so you can do that.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 04:57 AM Thread Starter   #6
jarthel
Member

 
jarthel's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
thanks everyone for the help
jarthel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 04:58 AM Thread Starter   #7
jarthel
Member

 
jarthel's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caligula420 View Post
I think hes just talking about installing a raid card in the 16x slot (why? when 4x would be fine)...but yes so you can do that.
most motherboard with onboard video are mATX though. thus there is only 1 16x PCIe slot and in some cases another 1x.
jarthel is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?