Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Must reformat if you change motherboards?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-09, 04:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
DareMe55
Member



Join Date: May 2007

 
Must reformat if you change motherboards?


Dont know whether this should be Harddrive or motherboard section.



Basically Im giving my dad my computer, but he wants all his information. Can he just put his HD in my computer and everything is fine? Or must he reformat. I've done some googling and some people say its possible, and some say its not.




He is using this right now:
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3

and my computer has:
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R

__________________
CPU==|Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz with Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo Heatsink
SSD==| Intel 520 Series Cherryville 120GB
HDD==| Samsung 500GB 7200RPM
RAM==|G.Skill Ripjaw X Series 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600
PSU==|Corsair HX750
Mobo==|ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU==|EVGA GTX 670
OS==|Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit
Case==|NZXT Switch 810 White


Logitech Z-5500 5.1 / Dell UltraSharp 3008WFP 30" Monitor/ Logitech G9x Mouse / Das Ultimate Keyboard
DareMe55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 04:43 PM   #2
BigBadBaz
Member

 
BigBadBaz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY, USA

 
You should be able to do it easily. The only things you may need to do is reactivate the OS and install new drivers.

I just swapped my GA-P35-DS3L for a Rampage Formula. I just needed to reactivate Vista and Vista got the drivers I needed.
BigBadBaz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 04:50 PM   #3
MARCI

 
MARCI's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Folding for T32 in Lawrenceville, Ga

 
Depending on the OS, it's varying degrees of simple/hard.

He's worried about data, or he doesn't want to reinstalll all his programs?

__________________
My Heat
C2D E8400 @3.6 1.184vCore
GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
8 GB G.SKILL PC8500
MSI GTX260 (216) OC 896MB folding 24/7
CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX
Folding User Stats
MARCI is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 08:35 PM   #4
x30Jx
Member

 
x30Jx's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
I would suggest taking 0 chances, and doing a 100% reformat and reinstall.
x30Jx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 08:37 PM   #5
MARCI

 
MARCI's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Folding for T32 in Lawrenceville, Ga

 
Back up data files, and a fresh install of the OS will generally feel much snappier anyway.

__________________
My Heat
C2D E8400 @3.6 1.184vCore
GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
8 GB G.SKILL PC8500
MSI GTX260 (216) OC 896MB folding 24/7
CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX
Folding User Stats
MARCI is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-09, 10:55 PM Thread Starter   #6
DareMe55
Member



Join Date: May 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARCI View Post
Depending on the OS, it's varying degrees of simple/hard.

He's worried about data, or he doesn't want to reinstalll all his programs?
Data. he does a lot of work on his computer. Bills, stocks, etc.

__________________
CPU==|Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz with Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo Heatsink
SSD==| Intel 520 Series Cherryville 120GB
HDD==| Samsung 500GB 7200RPM
RAM==|G.Skill Ripjaw X Series 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600
PSU==|Corsair HX750
Mobo==|ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU==|EVGA GTX 670
OS==|Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit
Case==|NZXT Switch 810 White


Logitech Z-5500 5.1 / Dell UltraSharp 3008WFP 30" Monitor/ Logitech G9x Mouse / Das Ultimate Keyboard
DareMe55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-09, 12:14 AM   #7
MARCI

 
MARCI's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Folding for T32 in Lawrenceville, Ga

 
Data is easy... does he have 1 or 2 hard drives? and how much data (in MB) are we talking? Even someone who does ALOT of data entry of mainly text based info, like stocks, bills, records of cds and insurance.. It really doesn't take alot of space..

You could likely burn the data files onto a cd, or a thumb drive..,

__________________
My Heat
C2D E8400 @3.6 1.184vCore
GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
8 GB G.SKILL PC8500
MSI GTX260 (216) OC 896MB folding 24/7
CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX
Folding User Stats
MARCI is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-09, 11:02 AM   #8
BigBadBaz
Member

 
BigBadBaz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY, USA

 
If just throwing the HDD into the new machine doesn't work, these are some great ideas. But I suggest you just try it first. If it doesn't work you'll just have to do what everyone else is saying, but if it works this is a lot easier and more practical.

BTW, what OS ARE you running?

__________________
M/B... Asus Rampage Formula
CPU... Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.32GHz
RAM... OCZ Platinum Edition 4 x 2GB PC2-8000 @ 830MHz
SSD... G.Skill Phoenix Pro 120GB
GPU... XFX Radeon HD4870 1GB @ 600MHz
PSU... Ultra XVS 600W
Case.. Cooler Master HAF 932
OS.... Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor... Samsung SyncMaster T220
BigBadBaz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-09, 11:19 AM   #9
cw823
Honeybadger Moderator

 
cw823's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Earth

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by x30Jx View Post
I would suggest taking 0 chances, and doing a 100% reformat and reinstall.
Zero chances would mean a new drive, leaving the old one intact with all related data.

__________________
I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

Heatware: cw823
Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

Support your forum:
http://www.newegg.com/
cw823 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-09, 02:24 PM   #10
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DareMe55 View Post
Data. he does a lot of work on his computer. Bills, stocks, etc.
then back it up anyways, assuming he probably has no backups....


back it up, swap boards, as long as the chipset is the same, the rest like audiop and stuff, uninstall those drivers (audio, video) prior to switching and remove them from the system / hardware area

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-09, 03:08 PM   #11
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DareMe55 View Post
Data. he does a lot of work on his computer. Bills, stocks, etc.
then back it up anyways, assuming he probably has no backups....


back it up, swap boards, as long as the chipset is the same, the rest like audiop and stuff, uninstall those drivers (audio, video) prior to switching and remove them from the system / hardware area

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-09, 01:43 AM   #12
grumperfish
Member

 
grumperfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DareMe55 View Post

He is using this right now:
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3

and my computer has:
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
I actually did this very same swap when my 965P board died (*by my inept hands) and it worked fine. It's still running great actually for that matter, though I'm incredibly anal about removing old drivers and I spent a week going through the system manually with regseeker. Still running the same XP install as I really didn't want to have to reload everything again.


I didn't expect to be able to keep the OS intact, but what I did is this (YMMV) :

1.) Removed audio and video drivers after swapping the boards.
2.) Removed the antivirus/firewall (symantec client security 9) and then ran NoNav to clear off the stuff it left behind.
3.) Ran driver cleaner (Pro and Platinum Edition) twice to finish off removing the video and audio drivers.
4.) Under Control Panel-> System Properties-> Advanced tab-> Environment Variables, I added the following under "User Variables for ....":

Code:
user variable: devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices
value: 1
then rebooted the system.

5.) Under Device Manager, I enabled showing of hidden drivers (View tab-> Show Hidden Devices), and removed the old IDE/ATAPI drivers for the previous board, and under the System Devices menu I removed the ICH8/965 northbridge drivers. Cleaned out any unused/greyed out USB drivers remaining.

6.) Rebooted, then installed the Intel .inf drivers from their site.

7.) After that I reinstalled the video and audio drivers, along with the antivirus and was good to go.


My Ubuntu install wasn't repairable however, and it may have been easier just to do a reformat.

__________________
Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // MSI R9 280X
16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
Server: Q6600 G0 // EP35-DS3R // 4GB DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 840Pro 128GB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
I like HEAT
grumperfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?