Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

buying a new mobo need help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-09, 02:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
mr.max-amd
Member

 
mr.max-amd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008

 
buying a new mobo need help


ok.....my motherboard is angering me satas are placed directly in front of the graphics card slot and i cant run sli because i dont have two pcie x16 ports
i want either a 790gx or a 750a or 780a no 790x or 790fx
good sata placement(preferably on the outside of the board facing out not up
i dont need built in graphics
no open box boards
and under 200$ preferably 100-130$ but i would have no problem buying a 200$ board
and i want bios that lets me have good control
mr.max-amd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-22-09, 03:38 PM   #2
Upgrayedd

 
Upgrayedd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chico, CA

 
If you want sli you can't get a 790gx either. Go with a 780a, 750 only does sli in 8x. Here's one for under $200 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131343

__________________
Desktop: A8-3850, 8GB DDR3-1866, ASUS HD6670

Laptop: L625, 4GB DDR2-667, HD 4330
Upgrayedd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 04:45 PM Thread Starter   #3
mr.max-amd
Member

 
mr.max-amd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008

 
mr.max-amd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 04:54 PM   #4
e6600

 
e6600's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles

 
better to not spend $210 on a am2+ mobo right now..
if you really, really want a mobo right now then the asus that upgrayedd linked should be fine.. unless you want tri sli for some reason

__________________
Heat
e6600 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 05:40 PM Thread Starter   #5
mr.max-amd
Member

 
mr.max-amd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008

 
that one just looked alot better
but why not spend 210 on an am2 mobo im not gonna build a new system with am3 or maybe intel until next year
and i want a good high powered board until then

i might just go with the initial thought and just buy a new gfx card
probably a gtx 260...but i want sli and a better chipset my board is a horrible cheapo
mr.max-amd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 06:00 PM   #6
Upgrayedd

 
Upgrayedd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chico, CA

 
Well foxconn makes decent boards too. If you're willing to spend 210 and want 3-way sli it wouldn't be a bad board. But if you're not going for 3-way sli I'd just get the asus.

__________________
Desktop: A8-3850, 8GB DDR3-1866, ASUS HD6670

Laptop: L625, 4GB DDR2-667, HD 4330
Upgrayedd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 09:11 PM   #7
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Which ASUS M3A78 do you now have? Egg lists about 5 variations of this board.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-09, 11:19 PM Thread Starter   #8
mr.max-amd
Member

 
mr.max-amd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008

 
the regular piece of poop one
and buy the way
im going to wait until amd comes out with something new and buy the new board/cpu like the phenom3 or phenom2 1xxx series
am3 or whatever comes out after
im going to get a gtx 280 or 260 instead....
mr.max-amd is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?