Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

Time for yet another cap job

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-09, 11:34 PM Thread Starter   #1
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Time for yet another cap job


Acquired 2 dells - GX150 and GX270, both small form factor models.

Here are the boards. I was pulling caps off of the PIII board when it dawned on me that I could document this endeavor.



Pulling caps off cold is not recommended, but I do it that way half the time anyways. If the force applies to the board instead of the cap legs, you could potentially ruin/break the solder points on the board. You have been warned

You can see my shipment from badcaps.net on the top left.

More to come...

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-09, 12:06 AM Thread Starter   #2
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
First board done. I'll test it tonight and do the next one tomorrow.


__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-09, 12:44 AM Thread Starter   #3
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Successful boot. I'll run memtest on it later.

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-09, 03:50 AM   #4
Jolly-Swagman

 
Jolly-Swagman's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Folding@Home in Downunder Australia.Victoria

 
Great work there ACID RAIN

Jolly-Swagman is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-09, 01:32 PM Thread Starter   #5
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Thanks

Finished the 270 and it boots fine as well. PSU fan was noisy so I added some oil to the bearings. I'll have to see how that works out.

Basically for 27 bucks (caps plus shipping) I got 2 free computers

P4 2.8 and PIII 1.13GHz

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-09, 09:00 AM   #6
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
It is safer to un-solder the caps (very easy to do, see my sig) than to yank the caps off. I would replace the caps on the VRM daughterboard first!

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Words of wisdom from krag:
"Love & trust are 2 completely different things. Trust is earned, love on the other hand should be given without measure."
My hwbot profile
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-09, 04:01 PM Thread Starter   #7
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Agreed. These are just toss-out systems so it doesn't really matter. I could have peed on them and tossed them in the garbage (probably not in that order) and been just as happy. I'm just saying

I did end up walking the others out because of proximity to other components. No room to work haha.

I would have replaced the ones on the VRM but they are the same rubicons as I put in so I left them. I did really consider those two but they seem to be doing well and the system seems to be running fine with them. I know usage over time matters as with nearly any component, but again, just toss-out systems. If I sell them or something I'll be doing the VRM caps for sure. I can swap those two out in less time than it takes to heat up the iron.

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-09, 04:13 PM   #8
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Ah, yes, I've done a few of those GX270s myself. Never seen any of 'em where the VRM caps went out, but the two by the RAM slots and one by the AGP slot have gone bad on every single one I've come across.

Both those models are pretty decent backup machines once the cap issues are fixed. If the GX150 has the 815E chipset (some just had the older 815), you can stick a Tualatin in there and have a pretty nice low-power system for a server or whatever.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-09, 07:01 AM   #9
henzo
Member

 
henzo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Detroit

 
Skwisgaar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry, had to lol.

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.347 ghz (207x21) @ 1.41v
Cooling: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme push/pull
Ram: Dominator 3x1gb DDR3 1600 @1656mhz
Graphics: 2x HIS HD4890 @ 1010c/1010m
mobo: Gigibyte EX58-UD3R F6
Case: Beastly huge HAF 932
PSU: Corsair TX750w
HDD: 80g WD and a 500g Barracuda
Game Viewing Portal: HG281D @ 1920x1200 & HG216D


"Notice how i'm not mad and he's mad. That's being a d ick."
henzo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-09, 08:22 AM Thread Starter   #10
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 


Best cartoon evar.

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-09, 06:41 AM   #11
jediobi1
Member

 
jediobi1's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville Tn

 
just wondering what the voltage and uF of the caps you had to replace were? i wanna see if they were the same as the ones i pulled recently

__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
CPU: E8400 3.0ghz
Memory: Gskill 4 gigabyte 2x2gb sticks
Videocard: ATI Radeon 4850
Case: Antec 900
Mouse: Logitech G5
Keyboard: Zboard Gaming Keyboard


My Heatware
jediobi1 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-09, 04:44 PM Thread Starter   #12
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
The only ones I remember are 6.3v. I'm at work right now so I couldn't tell you more.

Manufacturer will matter more than anything, usually.

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-09, 04:47 PM   #13
SuperMiguel
Super User

 
SuperMiguel's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, US

 
good job... i know dell has had alotttt of issues with the caps of the gx260, gx270, and gx280

__________________
<(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>
SuperMiguel is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?