Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

8800gtx 1920x1200?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-09, 05:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
Burninate35
Member



Join Date: Oct 2008

 
8800gtx 1920x1200?


Will my 8800gtx be able to play most games smoothly @ 1920x1200 w/o AA?

I would like to still max out AF

Games like cod4, l4d, CSS (well css is a "duh"), tf2, crysis on high W/O AA or AF?

I am just trying to figure out which monitor to get.

I am leaning towards a 27.5 inch 1920x1024 Hans G monitor


p.s. I want all of my games to stay around 50 fps (except for crysis, 25 is fine for crysis)

And any thoughts on the monitor?


Thanks a bunch

__________________
L4D Player
My system- about 10k ppd
monitor-Dell 2209wa|mobo-p5q pro|gpu-8800gtx|cpu-qx6700-ram-2x1 gb 1066mhz corsair dominator|HSF-xigamtek hdt-s1283|psu-CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W|case- Coolermaster Stacker 810
Second Computer - about 2500ppd
CPU-e6600|GPU-256mb ddr3 8600gts|Case-Coolermaster Centurion 590|PSU-500w thermaltake purepower|Ram-2x1GB G.Skill ddr2 800|Motherboard-Asus p5kpl-cm
(1 x GPU2 client + 1 x cpu client) 24/7

Last edited by Burninate35; 04-05-09 at 05:31 PM.
Burninate35 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-09, 05:16 PM   #2
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
shouldn't have an issue with the exception of crysis.

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-09, 05:28 PM Thread Starter   #3
Burninate35
Member



Join Date: Oct 2008

 
You do not think that I could even get 25fps out of crysis on high? (not very high and with 0x AA + 8xaf?)

Thanks for the reply

__________________
L4D Player
My system- about 10k ppd
monitor-Dell 2209wa|mobo-p5q pro|gpu-8800gtx|cpu-qx6700-ram-2x1 gb 1066mhz corsair dominator|HSF-xigamtek hdt-s1283|psu-CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W|case- Coolermaster Stacker 810
Second Computer - about 2500ppd
CPU-e6600|GPU-256mb ddr3 8600gts|Case-Coolermaster Centurion 590|PSU-500w thermaltake purepower|Ram-2x1GB G.Skill ddr2 800|Motherboard-Asus p5kpl-cm
(1 x GPU2 client + 1 x cpu client) 24/7
Burninate35 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-09, 06:37 PM   #4
SniperXX
Member

 
SniperXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folding in Diamond Bar

 
Crysis is a resource slug. I ran crysis wars at a lan the other night with a c2d @ 3ghz, 8GB ram, vista x64, raptor 150, and a gtx285 and I think I ran Gamer settings and it would have lag spikes @ 1280x1024, I ended up running 1024x768 since I didnt want lag. I still have my 8800gtx and a lcd that goes that high, I'll try to test it out if I have time tomorrow.

__________________
i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz
Asus Rampage II GENE
2x BFG GTX285
6GB Crucial Dominator 1600
Crucial 750TX

Help find cures for cancer by running Folding @ Home.

HEATWARE
SniperXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-09, 06:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
Burninate35
Member



Join Date: Oct 2008

 
Wow, thanks. Only do it if you want to test it out. Crysis is low on my list as a priority. I have had to play a few levels 3-4 times because they keep getting buggy, and the bugs stay with you for the rest of the game unless you go before the save when it happned.

Eg. Some weapons are invisible, I have extra hands, Koreans have no guns, aliens do not attack me, Koreans are invincible, and bullets pass right through them plus more.


I am pretty tired of playing the same levels over and over again. Keep in mind that this is fully patched Crysis.

Thanks

__________________
L4D Player
My system- about 10k ppd
monitor-Dell 2209wa|mobo-p5q pro|gpu-8800gtx|cpu-qx6700-ram-2x1 gb 1066mhz corsair dominator|HSF-xigamtek hdt-s1283|psu-CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W|case- Coolermaster Stacker 810
Second Computer - about 2500ppd
CPU-e6600|GPU-256mb ddr3 8600gts|Case-Coolermaster Centurion 590|PSU-500w thermaltake purepower|Ram-2x1GB G.Skill ddr2 800|Motherboard-Asus p5kpl-cm
(1 x GPU2 client + 1 x cpu client) 24/7
Burninate35 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-09, 10:26 PM   #6
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Weird... I have never had that issue with warhead. And since my 9800gtx+ is basically your 8800gtx but with higher clocks, you should be able to get around 25 on crysis. I could get mid to high 30's all gamer with 0AA and 8xAF on 1440*900.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-09, 10:44 PM Thread Starter   #7
Burninate35
Member



Join Date: Oct 2008

 
This is with regular Crysis. I just recently got it. I may have to reinstall.

__________________
L4D Player
My system- about 10k ppd
monitor-Dell 2209wa|mobo-p5q pro|gpu-8800gtx|cpu-qx6700-ram-2x1 gb 1066mhz corsair dominator|HSF-xigamtek hdt-s1283|psu-CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W|case- Coolermaster Stacker 810
Second Computer - about 2500ppd
CPU-e6600|GPU-256mb ddr3 8600gts|Case-Coolermaster Centurion 590|PSU-500w thermaltake purepower|Ram-2x1GB G.Skill ddr2 800|Motherboard-Asus p5kpl-cm
(1 x GPU2 client + 1 x cpu client) 24/7
Burninate35 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-09, 10:35 PM   #8
necrokiller
Member

 
necrokiller's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
Are you sure its not a pirated copy? mostly problems like these occur in pirated versions of games.

8800GTX is good enough for 1920x1200 w/o AA...even with some AA for games like L4D.

__________________
Processor | Intel C2D E8400 C0 @ 4GHz Xigmatek Dark Knight
Motherboard | eVGA 680i SLI
RAM | OCZ XTC Platinum 2x1GB DDR2 1066MHz PC-8500
Graphics | EVGA GTX 260 (192sp)
Storage | Western Digital 320GB SATA
Case - Power Supply |CM 690 - Corsair TX750
Operating System | Windows 7 (32-bit)
necrokiller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-09, 07:58 AM   #9
Cuiiey
Member

 
Cuiiey's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia

 
Are you sure thats true? my friends was able to run crysis and L4D on medium with AF on full and no AA at a resonable 8600gt at 30fps

__________________
My system ------> Mobo: Asus Sabertooth|CPU: i7 950|HDD: WD 750GB 5400rpm green, 808.08GB 7200rpm|GFX:CF XFX 6870 1GB|RAM: 6GB RipJaws 8-8-8-20|PSU: Antec TP Quattro 800W|OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64|Mouse/KB: Razer DeathAdder V2/Razer Lycosa
Cuiiey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-09, 03:21 PM Thread Starter   #10
Burninate35
Member



Join Date: Oct 2008

 
I swear that it is not pirated haha. I could post a picture of the box if you really wanted me too.

I am annoyed that I payed for something that is bugging out like this.

__________________
L4D Player
My system- about 10k ppd
monitor-Dell 2209wa|mobo-p5q pro|gpu-8800gtx|cpu-qx6700-ram-2x1 gb 1066mhz corsair dominator|HSF-xigamtek hdt-s1283|psu-CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W|case- Coolermaster Stacker 810
Second Computer - about 2500ppd
CPU-e6600|GPU-256mb ddr3 8600gts|Case-Coolermaster Centurion 590|PSU-500w thermaltake purepower|Ram-2x1GB G.Skill ddr2 800|Motherboard-Asus p5kpl-cm
(1 x GPU2 client + 1 x cpu client) 24/7
Burninate35 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-09, 08:39 AM   #11
gian84
Member

 
gian84's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Metro Manila

 
you should be able to run the regular crysis with high settings in 1920x1200 w/o AA at ~25fps. provided ofcourse you oc your cpu and gpu to their max/near max.

__________________
CPU: E6300 Wolfdale @ 4.0Ghz
HSF: CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
MB: Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2C
Gfx: MSI 4830 OC @ 860/1120
Mem: Transcend 800 2x2gb
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 640gb AAKS
Case: CoolerMaster 690
PSU: HEC WIN+ Power 550W
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate SP2
LCD: LG W2252TQ 22"
gian84 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-09, 11:26 AM Thread Starter   #12
Burninate35
Member



Join Date: Oct 2008

 
I think I found the monitor that I want and it turns out to be lower resolution than 1920x1200

It is the dell 2209wa

It has an ips panel!

I cannot find a better deal than that, plus dell has the best return policy with dead pixels.

Anyone know anything else about that monitor?

Thank you for the help.

This gives me a very good idea of how well my computer will run @ lower resolutions (which will be much higher than my current 1280 x 1024 haha)

__________________
L4D Player
My system- about 10k ppd
monitor-Dell 2209wa|mobo-p5q pro|gpu-8800gtx|cpu-qx6700-ram-2x1 gb 1066mhz corsair dominator|HSF-xigamtek hdt-s1283|psu-CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W|case- Coolermaster Stacker 810
Second Computer - about 2500ppd
CPU-e6600|GPU-256mb ddr3 8600gts|Case-Coolermaster Centurion 590|PSU-500w thermaltake purepower|Ram-2x1GB G.Skill ddr2 800|Motherboard-Asus p5kpl-cm
(1 x GPU2 client + 1 x cpu client) 24/7
Burninate35 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?