• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best way to cool my new i7 pc.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

obaki

Please go easy on me as I am new to all of this. I have taken some interest in learning about cooling and the different methods . I am looking to build a kick *** system and cannot decide how to go about my cooling. I have been debating back and forth for air/water and keep reading lots of conflicting advice. I will obviously want to overclock my i7 (nothing crazy though).

Here are my specs so far:

Case: will depend on what cooling method I use.
PS: Corsair TX750W 750W
MB: GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
CPU: I7 920
GPU: ATI 4890
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
Mem: OCZ 3X2GB DDR3-1600

I think you are right. I might just look for the right case so that when I do get the guts to start watercooling it won't be too difficult to change.

I was expecting Prolimatech to beat Thermalright since it was supposedly designed by former Thermalright engineers but the one review I read doesn't put it above TRUE Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme.

So what's the deal with Prolimatech vs. Thermalright?

Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme 1366 RT with 120mm Scythe S-Flex F fan
ASUS EAH4850 TOP Radeon HD 4850 512MB @ 680 MHz GPU & 2100 MHz Memory
Antec nine hundred case, two front 120mm fans, one back 120mm Fan, one top 200mm fan
Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W

Last edited:
I did a search for articles on it.

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTYxNCwxLCxoZW50aGlzdWFzdA==

That's about all I could come up with, but I'll admit to not looking very hard. I don't follow hardocp much, but if they're testing is solid, it looks like its giving the TRUE a run for its money. If it cools as well as a TRUE, and I don't have to lap the hell out of the base like a TRUE, that's a win in and of itself.