Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

Project: Rackmount Overkill

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-12, 11:39 AM   #1001
Ben333
Folding for Team 32!



Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Hampshire

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
They will be going on eBay, but I would sell them through the forums here if someone was interested. Obviously, we can't discuss that in the public forums.
Simply curious how you're selling them I've probably had my hands on around 10+ dell servers, now I don't have a single one. Only thing I kept that was big and bulky was my prized IBM dog house sized quad Pentium Pro box.
Ben333 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-12, 09:39 PM Thread Starter   #1002
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Just purchased four SLANU processors (771 socket, 2.66 GHz) for the IBM x3650's.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-12, 09:54 AM Thread Starter   #1003
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
The new processors are going to be here today, just waiting for the mailman.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-12, 11:44 AM Thread Starter   #1004
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Processors arrived and pictures, as always. I think it took me around 30 minutes to do both servers and fire them back up.


Server torn apart, ready to get started.


Heatsinks removed. This is the quickest processor change I've ever done. You just unhook those metal retaining clips and the heatsink comes off. They are a bit better than the stock Intel ones, for sure!


New processors installed.


TIM applied and heatsinks installed. Let's fire this up!


8 cores per server.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-12, 02:27 PM   #1005
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Awesome as always, thiddy. Be sure to put that power to use, man!

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-12, 05:53 PM Thread Starter   #1006
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Running LinX on the processors. None are breaking 70c.


__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-12, 07:15 PM Thread Starter   #1007
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I just purchased an upgrade for my file server from the classifieds here for $800.

Asus KGPE-D16 Dual G34 socket motherboard
2x Opteron 6134 8-core G34 Magny-Cours
16x 4 gb DDR3 Kingston (64gb total)
2x Dynatron A6 coolers

I will likely replace them with 12-core Interlagos processors.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-12, 08:58 PM Thread Starter   #1008
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
After looking into the differences between Magny-Cours and Interlagos, it looks like it isn't worth the upgrade. In Anand's comparison, the 16 core Interlagos did nearly the same as the 12 core Magny-Cours. So, me going to a 12-core Interlagos will be nearly the same as keeping the ones I'll already have.

If anyone has input on this, I would appreciate it.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-05-12, 05:39 PM   #1009
cw823
Honeybadger Moderator

 
cw823's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Earth

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
After looking into the differences between Magny-Cours and Interlagos, it looks like it isn't worth the upgrade. In Anand's comparison, the 16 core Interlagos did nearly the same as the 12 core Magny-Cours. So, me going to a 12-core Interlagos will be nearly the same as keeping the ones I'll already have.

If anyone has input on this, I would appreciate it.
check the f@h section, tons of MG vs. IL info in there, thinking you're better off staying with MG

__________________
I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

Heatware: cw823
Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

Support your forum:
http://www.newegg.com/
cw823 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-05-12, 06:54 PM   #1010
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
so does that top part of those heatsinks mate with the chassis or something for extra heat dissipation?

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-05-12, 07:48 PM Thread Starter   #1011
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
so does that top part of those heatsinks mate with the chassis or something for extra heat dissipation?
The x3650? No.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-12, 04:43 PM Thread Starter   #1012
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I purchased two Intel PT gigabit PCIe network cards last week and they arrived a few days ago. I'm going to be doing a write-up on several different NAS operating systems and wanted to be able to isolate it to a single NIC. This also gives me room for expansion on the file server. Right now, I can have up to 4 gigabit NICs.

Server parts should be here next week. I will have to make a special cable for the power supply to allow the new board to work with it. The power supply has a single 8pin CPU ATX connector, but I need two. I don't want to split the cable or use the 4pin. What I'm going to do is use one of the PCIe power cables, but I'll modify it to have the proper pinout. Since a 6pin PCIe cable is three 12v and three ground, I can simply split two of those lines to give me 8 lines. I'll have pictures, of course.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-12, 05:30 PM Thread Starter   #1013
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I may have located some instability on Fortran. I've been running a very processor/memory intensive program for around 8 hours and suddenly my virtual machine's file system is corrupt (everything is run in RAM). I'm currently running Prime95 blend to see if it has any issues. I was confused when I went to check CPU usage and programs kept closing. Went to use basic commands (tail, fsck) and they were failing with I/O errors. I've moved that VM over to Cobol and started the process over.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 05:27 PM   #1014
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: 103 year old Victorian that I am renovat/moderniz-ing and fixing.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I just purchased an upgrade for my file server from the classifieds here for $800.

Asus KGPE-D16 Dual G34 socket motherboard
2x Opteron 6134 8-core G34 Magny-Cours
16x 4 gb DDR3 Kingston (64gb total)
2x Dynatron A6 coolers

I will likely replace them with 12-core Interlagos processors.

You do realize that this is 100000x overkill for a FILE server right?

VM host? Depends on the VMs and # but to serve files, this is straight over ludicrous and into PLAID!

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 05:31 PM   #1015
cw823
Honeybadger Moderator

 
cw823's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Earth

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adragontattoo View Post
You do realize that this is 100000x overkill for a FILE server right?

VM host? Depends on the VMs and # but to serve files, this is straight over ludicrous and into PLAID!
In terms of CPU, yes. In terms of memory, if running a ZFS-based file system for NAS, the more memory the better!

__________________
I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

Heatware: cw823
Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

Support your forum:
http://www.newegg.com/
cw823 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 06:11 PM Thread Starter   #1016
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Server is here! I may not be able to test and have pictures today, as I have stuff I need to get done tonight. I'll try, at very least, to get pictures of the board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adragontattoo View Post
You do realize that this is 100000x overkill for a FILE server right?

VM host? Depends on the VMs and # but to serve files, this is straight over ludicrous and into PLAID!
I think you need to check the title of the thread again!

I occasionally do very processor intensive runs, so it will come in handy -- massive video/audio rendering along with others. Not to mention I got an amazing deal on the set (well under half price of the parts new), which will allow me to push off upgrades in the future. I can also finally get rid of the crappy PCI video card that I'm currently using and add PCIe devices.

It will be the main VM server, though. Interesting fact: This server will have double the RAM (64gb) than operating system hard drive space (30gb).

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw823 View Post
In terms of CPU, yes. In terms of memory, if running a ZFS-based file system for NAS, the more memory the better!
I'm unsure if I want to run ZFS. I love the idea, the feature set is really good and not having to upgrade RAID cards in the future is nice, but the 2gb of RAM per TB of disk has me a bit scared. Yes, I have 64gb of RAM in this server alone, but I want to use the RAM for something other than file storage.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 06:32 PM   #1017
jmdixon85
Member

 
jmdixon85's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cumbria (UK)

 
Overkill is the title. And Thiddy is making that stand true

I too am looking into going back to freenas and ZFS. Since my RAID HBA is so slow

I am ditching my P4 server for a low-power Semprom 145 and hopefully I should get better results than I did running freenas on my old server.

I just need to learn how to make a local backup within the freenas server. I love the GUI and the features. But why make a simple task so complex!

__________________
Main System/File Server/Secondary System/IP-Fire Router
CPU: I2500K @ 4.8Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz/Celeron 1.1Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte P35-DS3P/Gigabyte GA-C847N
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/8GB DDR3 1333Mhz/4GB DDR2 1066Mhz/2GB DDR2
Video: 2x nVidia GTX470 sli/Radeon 3000/NVidia GTX460/iGPU
HDD: 128GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/Samsung 160GB (Sytem), 4x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/VR 160GB (system) 1TB (Data)/500GB WD Blue
PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W/FSP 800W/FSP 300W
Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/Cosmos 1000
Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)/Logitech X-530
i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide
jmdixon85 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 06:36 PM Thread Starter   #1018
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdixon85 View Post
I just need to learn how to make a local backup within the freenas server. I love the GUI and the features. But why make a simple task so complex!
Does it have the rsync program by default? If so, you could just write a BASH script and throw it in cron. If you aren't comfortable with this, I could help write a really basic one for you. Shoot me a message if you are interested or want details.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
jmdixon85 (03-12-12)
Old 03-12-12, 06:49 PM   #1019
cw823
Honeybadger Moderator

 
cw823's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Earth

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Server is here! I may not be able to test and have pictures today, as I have stuff I need to get done tonight. I'll try, at very least, to get pictures of the board.

I think you need to check the title of the thread again!

I occasionally do very processor intensive runs, so it will come in handy -- massive video/audio rendering along with others. Not to mention I got an amazing deal on the set (well under half price of the parts new), which will allow me to push off upgrades in the future. I can also finally get rid of the crappy PCI video card that I'm currently using and add PCIe devices.

It will be the main VM server, though. Interesting fact: This server will have double the RAM (64gb) than operating system hard drive space (30gb).

I'm unsure if I want to run ZFS. I love the idea, the feature set is really good and not having to upgrade RAID cards in the future is nice, but the 2gb of RAM per TB of disk has me a bit scared. Yes, I have 64gb of RAM in this server alone, but I want to use the RAM for something other than file storage.
Understanding how ZFS works I have difficulty even suggesting another FS. It uses alot of RAM, sure; but is there anything better out there?

Crap, I owe you a PM too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdixon85 View Post
Overkill is the title. And Thiddy is making that stand true

I too am looking into going back to freenas and ZFS. Since my RAID HBA is so slow

I am ditching my P4 server for a low-power Semprom 145 and hopefully I should get better results than I did running freenas on my old server.

I just need to learn how to make a local backup within the freenas server. I love the GUI and the features. But why make a simple task so complex!
FreeNAS is good for ZFS and mediocre performance. It's simple and hands-off, but there are better ZFS options out there.

__________________
I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

Heatware: cw823
Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

Support your forum:
http://www.newegg.com/
cw823 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 06:57 PM   #1020
jmdixon85
Member

 
jmdixon85's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cumbria (UK)

 
Cheers thiddy. Freenas does have Rsync, and I know its possible to create a BASH script to do it. I just don't know enough about Linux to do it.

My CPU is on the way, but I will be getting the RAM and mobo next month (I've had to pay for a trip away with the other half since its anniversary time)

I will be starting with 8GB RAM, so that should be enough for a 3TB RAID-Z?

Atleast with the support of this forum I know I'm in good hands. But you would have thought backup to a local disk would have been simple in freenas! I storage distro that doesn't offer a simple backup method! Seems silly to me...

__________________
Main System/File Server/Secondary System/IP-Fire Router
CPU: I2500K @ 4.8Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz/Celeron 1.1Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte P35-DS3P/Gigabyte GA-C847N
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/8GB DDR3 1333Mhz/4GB DDR2 1066Mhz/2GB DDR2
Video: 2x nVidia GTX470 sli/Radeon 3000/NVidia GTX460/iGPU
HDD: 128GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/Samsung 160GB (Sytem), 4x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/VR 160GB (system) 1TB (Data)/500GB WD Blue
PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W/FSP 800W/FSP 300W
Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/Cosmos 1000
Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)/Logitech X-530
i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide
jmdixon85 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?