Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

how to copy files using dos

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-02, 07:52 AM Thread Starter   #1
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
how to copy files using dos


im trying to copy a file using dos. can someone tell me the what the command line looks like//

thanks

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-02, 09:05 AM   #2
Wa11y
Senior Thread Hijacker



Join Date: May 2001
Location: Six inches to the right.

 
Simple commands in DOS.

Your prompt should be "C:\>".

Issue the command "Copy" then the location from, and the location to. Say you wanted to copy c:\test.txt c:\temp\test.txt. The command would look like this:

C:\>copy test.txt \temp

And away you go!
Wa11y is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-02, 09:56 AM Thread Starter   #3
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
i cant figure it out


its a .dll file first off.


the paremeter looks like this

im pulling it form my a drive so

copy a:\text.dll

then i add where i want it to go


copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup

then it gves me invalid syntax

what gives.

i got it to work once. and it said windows is using this file.

can i make windows stop sing the file, so i can swap the file out?

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-02, 02:50 PM   #4
Wa11y
Senior Thread Hijacker



Join Date: May 2001
Location: Six inches to the right.

 
Are you typing it exaclty like you have it?
"copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup"
Remember, DOS will only do 8 character file and directory names. So you'd have to do:
copy a:\text.dll c:\progra~1\ws_setup
Wa11y is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-02, 10:46 AM   #5
nuciles
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Baldwin Park, CA

 
Re: i cant figure it out


Quote:
Originally posted by jstutman
i got it to work once. and it said windows is using this file.
Were you trying in pure DOS or DOS in windows?
nuciles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-02, 05:15 PM   #6
PhoenixMDM
Piano Man

 
PhoenixMDM's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Candia, NH

 
Just curious, why not just use windows explorer to copy it? Are you on a DOS-only sys or something? Heh, dos-only...
PhoenixMDM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-02, 08:14 AM   #7
RED Hot Machine
Inactive Moderator

 
RED Hot Machine's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, England.

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Wa11y
Are you typing it exaclty like you have it?
"copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup"
Remember, DOS will only do 8 character file and directory names. So you'd have to do:
copy a:\text.dll c:\progra~1\ws_setup
If your in a dos windows in 2k you can type

copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup

but in windows 98 you would have to type

copy a:\text.dll "c:\program files\ws_setup"

Notice you need the "

__________________
You only live once, look out for those true friends and never forget them EVER!!
RED Hot Machine is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?