Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

hardware changing...?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-09, 09:20 AM Thread Starter   #1
whiteshark
Registered

 
whiteshark's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

 
hardware changing...?


Hi, my configuration is: intel pentium dual core e2160 1.80Ghz, Asus P5KPL, Nvidia Geforce 8600GT 512MB, 2GB DDR2 800Mhz, Hdd 160GB... so i read that processor isn't so much important for playing games, like the graphics card.. so what is more important for me to upgrade, processor or graphics card in this configuration?

Thanks
whiteshark is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-09, 09:31 AM   #2
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
In that configuration, you'll be considerably better off with a new video card... the 8600GT is OK for light gaming and HTPC-type uses, but it's not a very high performance card.

At stock speed, your CPU might begin to limit you a bit with the highest-end cards, but bumping it up to the 2.5-3ghz range should take care of any troubles with that, if the need arises.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-09, 09:32 AM   #3
KillrBuckeye
Senior Member

 
KillrBuckeye's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livonia, MI

 
I think your current CPU and video card are appropriately matched. If you upgrade either component, the older component is going to be holding you back some. But it really depends on the games you play and the resolution you run. If you game at very high resolution and quality settings, then you will generally get more benefit from a video card upgrade. However, your CPU will definitely be limiting your framerates in some games. Have you considered overclocking your CPU? If you upgraded your video card and overclocked your CPU, you could see significant gains in performance.

__________________
KillrBuckeye

Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

http://www.killrbuckeye.com
KillrBuckeye is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-09, 09:39 AM Thread Starter   #4
whiteshark
Registered

 
whiteshark's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

 
thanks guys, but overclocking is not so high on this motherboard Asus P5KPL, i can overclock this processor to 2.30Ghz max everything else is unstable.. so..
whiteshark is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-09, 09:43 AM   #5
KillrBuckeye
Senior Member

 
KillrBuckeye's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livonia, MI

 
I agree with Old Thrashbarg that a video card upgrade would be your best bet for now. Last time I checked, the Radeon 4850 was the best bang-for-the-buck card, but that was a couple months ago.

__________________
KillrBuckeye

Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

http://www.killrbuckeye.com
KillrBuckeye is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-09, 11:08 AM   #6
BG-0
Member

 
BG-0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: F@F, Folding @(in, but who cares about grammar?) Finland

 
Geforce GTS250 costs the same as 4850, offers the same performance, is smaller, consumes less power and has PhysX and CUDA. I would say that today it is better bang/buck than 4850.
Just make sure your power supply is up for the upgrade.
BG-0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-09, 11:42 AM   #7
Rinne
Member



Join Date: May 2006

 
4830 or wait a little for the HD4770

__________________
CPU: E8200 @ 3.6GHZ TRUE
MB: Gigabyte P35-S3G
PSU: Seasonic S-12 500W
GFX: MSI Radeon HD 4850 @ 700/1020 Accelero TT
RAM: 2x2GB OCZ Reaper 8500, CL5
HDD: 2x WD Caviar 80GB
Rinne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-09, 10:02 AM   #8
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Quote:
but overclocking is not so high on this motherboard Asus P5KPL, i can overclock this processor to 2.30Ghz max everything else is unstable.. so..
Do a BSEL mod. It's got about a 99% chance it'll work at 1066FSB for 2.4ghz, and you might even be able to get it to run at 1333FSB for 3.2ghz, although that would probably require the 1.4V or 1.45V mod as well.

As for a video card, I'd probably wait for the HD4770, it's coming out pretty soon, and it's pretty close in performance to the 4850 but will cost <$100.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-09, 12:56 PM Thread Starter   #9
whiteshark
Registered

 
whiteshark's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

 
Do a BSEL mod. It's got about a 99% chance it'll work at 1066FSB for 2.4ghz, and you might even be able to get it to run at 1333FSB for 3.2ghz, although that would probably require the 1.4V or 1.45V mod as well.

i have made a BSEL MODE on my CPU, when i turn on my computer it says new cpu, ok, i enter the bios, save changes, but then after a restart everything backs to normal, fsb and cpu speed, why ?? i used electrical tape... what is the problem?
whiteshark is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-09, 07:58 AM   #10
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Quote:
i used electrical tape...
Did you thoroughly read the guide? Because you shouldn't need electrical tape for the BSEL mod. You just take a conductive ink pen and connect the appropriate pads.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-09, 09:45 AM Thread Starter   #11
whiteshark
Registered

 
whiteshark's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

 
yes i read the guide, but i can't find conductive ink pen, so i tried to connect pins with little peace of electrical tape and it worked but after restart CPU backs to normal speed...
whiteshark is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-09, 10:31 AM   #12
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
electrical tape shouldn't have worked at all but you could try online for the pen
http://www.google.com/products?hl=en...=N&tab=wf&um=1

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-09, 10:35 AM Thread Starter   #13
whiteshark
Registered

 
whiteshark's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

 
ok, tnx, i will try to get a pen.
whiteshark is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-09, 01:46 PM   #14
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
It shouldn't be too hard to find a pen locally. Radioshack usually has 'em, and there are also some available at auto parts stores, for repairing rear window defoggers.

And yes, electrical tape shouldn't have worked at all, since conductive ink is conductive, and electrical tape is an insulator.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-09, 02:02 PM Thread Starter   #15
whiteshark
Registered

 
whiteshark's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Thrashbarg View Post
It shouldn't be too hard to find a pen locally. Radioshack usually has 'em, and there are also some available at auto parts stores, for repairing rear window defoggers.

And yes, electrical tape shouldn't have worked at all, since conductive ink is conductive, and electrical tape is an insulator.
oh i m so sorry, did i said electrical tape,,, no no, i used metal foil, i cut a little piece of metal foil in shape which can connect the pins on CPU... and ok, thanks for instructions on how to get a pen what would i do without you here
whiteshark is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-09, 03:19 AM   #16
Shadowmage
Member



Join Date: Apr 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BG-0 View Post
Geforce GTS250 costs the same as 4850, offers the same performance, is smaller, consumes less power and has PhysX and CUDA. I would say that today it is better bang/buck than 4850.
Just make sure your power supply is up for the upgrade.
Does the GTS250 cost $85 shipped on Newegg? I think not.
Shadowmage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-09, 08:04 PM   #17
cyberfish
Member



Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC

 
Quote:
I think your current CPU and video card are appropriately matched. If you upgrade either component, the older component is going to be holding you back some.
I'm not so sure about that.

I am running CoD4 at highest settings with ~45fps at 1680x1050 with an E2180 and a 9600 GT. The 9600 GT is still the bottleneck. Modern games (at modern resolutions) don't really demand that much from the CPU.
cyberfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-09, 07:46 AM   #18
BG-0
Member

 
BG-0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: F@F, Folding @(in, but who cares about grammar?) Finland

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmage View Post
Does the GTS250 cost $85 shipped on Newegg? I think not.
Was that 4850 sale on a month ago? I think not. *Edit*

Last edited by LutaWicasa; 06-15-09 at 04:29 PM.
BG-0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?