• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help, Overclocking Intel E2140

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

iri0001

Hi, I'm fairly new to overclocking so please be a little patient.

I have a pentium dual core e2140, stock speed is 1.6ghz

i want to overclock it, however ive tried to raise the fsb on the bios but so far i cant get the fsb above 210 without windows not starting

im running 2gb pc5200 667 ram, dual channel. my motherboard is a gigabyte ga-945gcmx-s2

the reason i want to overclock is my comouter is very, very slow.

thanks in advance

I'm afraid that 945G motherboards are known to be poor overclockers. :( However yours does support up to 266FSB (or 1066 quad-pumped) which should give you some room for oc'ing. What BIOS version is on your board currently? Another thing to check is what speed your RAM is running with 200FSB. If it's set to run with an up multiplier the RAM may be failing to work at an even higher speed.

Wanting to overclock because your computer is slow is what oc'ing is all about :) What do you do with your computer exactly where you feel it's slow? I've recently used a similar CPU, actually a slower dual core Celeron, and it was decent.

hi madman 007, thanks alot for the reply

the ram is at 667mhz (at 3.33)

my computer cant even play flash videos without lagging...

what do u suggest i set evrything to on the bios?

it is an award modular v6.00pg, the version is f4
thanks again

The lagging may have something to do with your video card more than the CPU. What kind of video card do you have?

thanks for replying again

yes, i have **** video card, a nvidia 7300gs

but everything is slow on my computer, not just playing video

i really just need someone to tell what to set my bios to to make my e2140 get at least 2ghz