Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Need help overclocking e6600

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-09, 01:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
jfisher007
New Member



Join Date: May 2009

 
Need help overclocking e6600


I have an c2d e6600 (watercooled) and asus p5b-e mobo with 2 x 2GB Mushkin DDR2-800 em2-6400 (5-5-5-12; 1.8V). I set up a 1:1 ratio between DDR2 and FSB. I upped the FSB to 375 Mhz which gave me a DDR2-750 MHz and I put the manufacturer 1.8V on the ram. I also upped the vcore voltage to 1.3250V and got a BSOD when loading to windows log on screen. What am I doing wrong? Should I up the vcore a notch? I don't think I should have any temp problems. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

BTW: Awesome forum and the C2D guide is very, very detailed and helpful.

Thanks for now
jfisher007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-09, 01:23 PM   #2
chuck4456
Member

 
chuck4456's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: eastern nc

 
You'll definitely need abit more Vcore - take it up a couple of bumps.
It would be helpful if you would list your complete hardware specs in a sig.
chuck4456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-09, 01:41 PM Thread Starter   #3
jfisher007
New Member



Join Date: May 2009

 
i list my harware specs in my sig.

Thanks for the response

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e6600 @ Stock 2.4Ghz (for now)
Asus p5b-e
Mushkin em2-6400 DDR2-800Mhz (2 x 2GB)
Nvidia GTX 280 1 GB
Sound Blaster XFi Xtreme Audio
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Thermaltake Kandalf LCS Tower
OCZ 850GXS SLI PSU
jfisher007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-09, 02:20 PM Thread Starter   #4
jfisher007
New Member



Join Date: May 2009

 
i oc my e6600 to 375 FSB DDR2-750 and vcore of 1.3875V. It booted to Windows, no BSOD but prime95 failed instantly with error:

Fatal Error: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e6600 @ Stock 2.4Ghz (for now)
Asus p5b-e
Mushkin em2-6400 DDR2-800Mhz (2 x 2GB)
Nvidia GTX 280 1 GB
Sound Blaster XFi Xtreme Audio
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Thermaltake Kandalf LCS Tower
OCZ 850GXS SLI PSU
jfisher007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-09, 02:36 PM Thread Starter   #5
jfisher007
New Member



Join Date: May 2009

 
Now upon boot up, the POST messages says that there is only one single channel pc2-4300. What can be causing this?

Thanks for all suggestions.

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e6600 @ Stock 2.4Ghz (for now)
Asus p5b-e
Mushkin em2-6400 DDR2-800Mhz (2 x 2GB)
Nvidia GTX 280 1 GB
Sound Blaster XFi Xtreme Audio
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Thermaltake Kandalf LCS Tower
OCZ 850GXS SLI PSU
jfisher007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 12:00 AM   #6
chuck4456
Member

 
chuck4456's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: eastern nc

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher007 View Post
Now upon boot up, the POST messages says that there is only one single channel pc2-4300. What can be causing this?

Thanks for all suggestions.
Did you flash your BIOS and forget to clear CMOS?
chuck4456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 07:19 AM   #7
Burdman27911
Member

 
Burdman27911's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central North Carolina, USA

 
You may need to increase the northbridge voltage as well, IIRC I'm using 1.45V for mine on my P5B-D. I'd keep increasing the vcore until you're more stable. As for the ram issue, clear the CMOS and see if that solves the issue... I'm thinking that that might be a sign to use more northbridge voltage.

Good luck, and to the forums!

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 3770k @4.6GHz
MOBO: EVGA Z77 FTW
GPU: Crossfire: AMD HD6970 @1000/1450 + AMD HD6950(unlocked)
RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-1600
PSU: Corsair HX850 Gold
Cooling: (CPU) Watercooled with BIXII, EK Supreme, and D5 Laing

Ridin' with the King

HEATWARE
Burdman27911 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 10:21 AM   #8
Brutal-Force
Member

 
Brutal-Force's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009

 
Agreed with Burdman. Also, double check your ram slots that you didn't actually knock something loose. It happens sometimes, this could be the cause of many of your troubles as well.

__________________
HTPC/Main Rig: 42" LG 1080p - Windows 7 Professional
EVGA P55 FTW - i7 860 4914.3 MHz Max and 4412 MHz 24/7
Venomous X - SANYO DENKI - 9SG1212P1G01 - 260 CFM @ 6000 RPMs
Corsair TX850 - Super Talent 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 (1320MHz 6-6-6-19)
BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC MaXcore 55(SLI)
Coolermaster HAF 932
Heat

My Homemade PWM Controller for "The Beast"
Brutal-Force is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?