Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

setting up raid 0

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-09, 01:03 AM Thread Starter   #1
eXcalibur
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
setting up raid 0


i was planning to set up 2 80g hdd at raid 0 for my system drive, then add another 640g hdd for storage.

i'm somewhat new to these raid things, aside from configuring raid 0 on the two 80g drive, do i need to configure raid for the 640g with the 2 80g too?

also, this will be the mobo i'll set my raid on, or would it be ideal to get a external raid controller instead?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128387

Last edited by eXcalibur; 05-10-09 at 09:45 PM.
eXcalibur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 01:51 AM   #2
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Nope... only include the 80s i nthe array.

(You will have to hit a button combination after enablign hte raid controller... Usually Ctrl+I or J

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 06:07 AM   #3
ou_phidelt
Member

 
ou_phidelt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rockingham, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXcalibur View Post
i was planning to set up 2 80g hdd at raid 0 for my system drive, then add another 640g hdd for storage.

i'm somewhat new to these raid things, aside from configuring raid 0 on the two 80g drive, do i need to configure raid for the 640g with the 2 80g too?
As excalibur said, include only 80's.
also, this will be the mobo i'll set my raid on, or would it be ideal to get a external raid controller instead?
It depends. A good dedicated RAID card will give better performance over and integrated controller. But if its worth it or not depends on the components involved. What motherboard and drives are you going to use.

__________________
HEAT
ou_phidelt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 01:09 PM   #4
SLORider
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo CA

 
RAID 0 requires very little hardware processing to do well. Your motherboard controller very likely will have every bit as good performance as any expensive RAID card. You're talking about a couple of everyday 80 GB drives, right?

You shouldn't need to even think about a fancy RAID card until you're running four (or even more) drives or utilizing RAID 5 or something more complicated than a single pair in RAID 0.

You definitely want the 640 GB drive as stand alone. This will give you HIGHER performance as there will be two separate volumes that can be accessed separately and simultaneously. In other words, your system can access OS files on the RAID 0 volume and access data on the 640 GB drive at the same time.
SLORider is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 09:48 PM Thread Starter   #5
eXcalibur
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
sorry, i didn't post the link to the mobo, it's updated now, thanks for all replies
eXcalibur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-09, 10:36 PM   #6
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
I'm currently using RAID 0 on a SB750 board like yourself.
It works well, but in gaming and such, there is only a minor improvement in performance. RAID 0 really shines in large file transfers.

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?