Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

BIOS reporting new CPU every time and only reports 767MB RAM to OS

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-09, 12:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
SpaceyWilly
Member

 
SpaceyWilly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sturbridge, MA

 
BIOS reporting new CPU every time and only reports 767MB RAM to OS


I'm having a really odd problem, and I think it's motherboard related. Yesterday, I decided to swap a core 2 duo into my HTPC machine to try to get the virtual windows XP thing working. It kept coming up with "New CPU detected... press f1 to enter bios or f2 to load default settings and continue." I went into the BIOS and made sure the settings were correct and did a save and exit, then it came up with the message again. I thought it might be that the BIOS wasn't compatible with the core 2 duo I was using, so I updated it but that didn't help. Now I put the core 2 quad that was working fine before back in and it still is giving me the error every time.

Now this really isn't a big deal since I hardly ever reboot my HTPC machine, but there's another problem. I have 4GB of memory installed, and it shows up fine as 4GB in the BIOS, but when I boot into Windows it is only showing 767MB. In the Windows 7 resource monitor, the other 3.3GB are shown as "Hardware Reserved - Memory that is reserved by the BIOS and some drivers for other peripherals." Now the computer is running really slowly and paging to the hard drive constantly. I never had this problem before I tried to do the CPU swap. What's happening here?

Here's what I'm running
Asus P5N7A-VM
Core 2 Quad Q8200 or Core 2 Duo E6600
Crucial 2x2GB RAM

BTW, the clock and BIOS settings are being stored fine so it doesn't seem to be a CMOS battery issue.

__________________
My Comp:

Athlon XP Barton 2500+ ------------Asus A7V8X
1024mb HyperX PC2700 RAM------Chieftec BLUE Dragon Series Case
5 BLUE Neon LED Fans--------------Leadtek 6800le unlocked to 12x1, 6vp
AverTV TV Tuner--------------------Logitech Z5300s
17" Dell 1704FPT--------------------Microsoft BLUE Optical Mouse
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Platinum
Gateway FPD2185W 21" Widescreen monitor
Laptop: Dell 600m, Pentium M 1.60ghz, 512mb ddr, Radeon Mobility 9000, DVD/CD-RW Combo

Last edited by SpaceyWilly; 05-16-09 at 12:30 PM.
SpaceyWilly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 05-16-09, 01:05 PM   #2
w2richwood
Member

 
w2richwood's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alta Loma Calif.

 
sounds like you may need to update your bios to a later bios
Rich

__________________
mb rampage 2 extreme
cpu i7 920do
ram kingston 1600 3x1gig
video ati 4890 1gig
ps corsair 750tx
cooler venomous x push pull
hd.s 2xwd raptors in raido
case cm. storm sniper



My Heatware
w2richwood is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-09, 01:16 PM   #3
jmdixon85
Member

 
jmdixon85's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cumbria (UK)

 
Since you said you have updated your BIOS (latest version being 0512) you should not have a problem with either CPU. I would check all BIOS settings carefully and if everything seems to be ok I would then inspect the Mobo carefully. Since you changed the CPU I would remove it and check for any bent pins, I would also re-seat your RAM and try that.

__________________
Main System/File Server/Secondary System/IP-Fire Router
CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz/Celeron 1.1Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte P35-DS3P/Gigabyte GA-C847N
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/8GB DDR3 1333Mhz/4GB DDR2 1066Mhz/2GB DDR2
Video: 2x nVidia GTX470 sli/Radeon 3000/NVidia GTX460/iGPU
HDD: 128GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/VR 160GB (system) 1TB (Data)/160GB
PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W/FSP 800W/FSP 300W
Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/Cosmos 1000
Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)/Logitech X-530
i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide
jmdixon85 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?