Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Phenom 2 X2 550BE and 250

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-09, 05:28 AM Thread Starter   #1
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Phenom 2 X2 550BE and 250


Xbitlabs was the first to jump the gun on these new cpus. Link

Quote:
Athlon II X2 250 overclocked to 3.9GHz with the Vcore increased by 0.175V above the nominal and remained absolutely stable throughout the tests.


The 550BE processor remained stable at 3.98GHz frequency with the core voltage increased by 0.15V.



Firingsquad.com

Tomshardware

Techspot

icrontic

Legionhardware

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".

Last edited by Kuroimaho; 06-02-09 at 01:29 AM. Reason: Updated.
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 07:35 AM   #2
Bima Sylirian
Registered

 
Bima Sylirian's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009

 
Great! 550 is also black edition!
Gotta forget E5200 and get with one of these.
Hope the pricing will be great (just as usual)!

__________________
My System
Lynnfield Multimedia Workstation
CPU--| Intel Xeon X3440 3.46GHz
MB---| ASRock P55 Deluxe3
RAM--| 2x 2GB G.SKILL + 2x 4GB Micron @1333MHz 9-9-9-24
GPU--| PowerColor Radeon HD 6990
SSD--| OCZ Vertex 4 256GB
HDD--| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB + Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB + WD Caviar Green 1.5TB + WD Caviar Green 750GB + WD Caviar Green 640GB
Case-| PowerColor TLD-006 Eruption
Bima Sylirian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 08:19 AM Thread Starter   #3
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
I also worried they won't make it a BE as it's "only" a dual, so a pleasant surprise.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 09:03 AM   #4
Bima Sylirian
Registered

 
Bima Sylirian's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009

 
Well yeah... I've never heard 550 will be a black edition until I read this article.
Now it's just how they compared to E7000 & E8000 series in gaming.
Callisto might not as good as high-end Wolfdale in application because AMD strikes that one with Heka. But at least Callisto should be able to compete in gaming. And I also hope there will be no issue with backward compatibility.
They should be able in the market in June according to the latest news I've read.
Damn AMD for keep delaying their product!

__________________
My System
Lynnfield Multimedia Workstation
CPU--| Intel Xeon X3440 3.46GHz
MB---| ASRock P55 Deluxe3
RAM--| 2x 2GB G.SKILL + 2x 4GB Micron @1333MHz 9-9-9-24
GPU--| PowerColor Radeon HD 6990
SSD--| OCZ Vertex 4 256GB
HDD--| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB + Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB + WD Caviar Green 1.5TB + WD Caviar Green 750GB + WD Caviar Green 640GB
Case-| PowerColor TLD-006 Eruption
Bima Sylirian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 09:06 AM   #5
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
I like that they utilized the L2 from the disabled cores for Regor. It really helps it to be a contender, even without the added benefit of L3. I can't wait for these to hit the shelves Nice link Kuro.

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 04:18 PM   #6
cdawall
Member

 
cdawall's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cypress, tx

 
NB clocks suck wonder if thats the chip or they just left them alone to oc?

__________________
Dual AMD Opty 8346HE's
Asus L1N64-SLI WS (Flashed /B)
4x1GB D9GMH
Sapphire 4850X2 2GB
32GB SLC supertalent SSD
cdawall is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 05:24 PM   #7
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
When will they be on the egg? and what are the odd's of getting a cherry like these? I predict aversge OC of ~3.8-9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xbit
The major difference between Phenom II X2 and Athlon II X2 is evidently in the configuration of their cache-memory system. Phenom II X2 has a 6MB L3 cache typical of most Phenom II processors. Athlon II X2 has no L3 cache, but instead – what a surprise! - boasts twice as large L2 cache. The modular structure of the Deneb core has definitely worked very well for AMD here. It allowed AMD engineers to combine the L2 cache memory of the two working processor cores with the L2 cache memory of the disabled cores. We tried to explain on the next picture how they transform a fully-functional quad-core Deneb die into the two dual-core modifications aka Callisto (Phenom II X2) and Regor (Athlon II X2).
I like being correct way back here AMD Delays Release of Quad-Core Athlon II.
Gotcha BAMA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
For the looks of it I just have to wonder if AMD is going for a one size fits all die?? It seems that the 1 meg L2 duals must be a modified core or are the starting a modular design and................never mind I don't think they are smart enough for that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroimaho View Post
Actually that might be real, not really modular design but still a good idea. Because the cache is between the cores, on the native duals they leave the cache of the two removed core so they double the cache for those duals.

From ground up modular design will be Bulldozer but the mobile line might come first those are much more in need of a refresh than their desktops.

I am quite certain I will pick up one, for the price it will be fun.

Another thing I just read that the Istanbul will be an upgraded design of K10.5 with better power savings not just 2 additional cores, it might trickle down to these new cpus which could also explain the delay.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
A modular design would be cost effective and MORE VERSATILE than just cutting off cores the possibilities are limitless with one base die design. This disabled crap may be a good thing in the end as it may lead to a flex design concept in which cores can be cut and caches combined or split or halved ............ you get the picture. A way to use all of what is there neede to be implemented ?reserve registers? redirect commands? offloading through HW to a sud processing unit? the registers are there tha pipes are open if the core is not up to spec hardwire the CPU to offload to a slower locked core when load reaches XX% of core max load.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroimaho View Post
The L2 less duals are native. No disabled crap, that's why they can launch them sooner than the quads and the triples.
Exactly as you would like it, they took the quad kept the L2 of the 3rd and fourth core, but removed the cores (will not take up die space) so this way the dual will have twice the cache of the L3less triplcecore and quadcore. This is how I imagine they will make the modular designin the future, they skew the die space so one cpu ends up with less modules while the other more and this can be adjusted wiith relative ease compared to current cache and core salvaging.
That's why I said it is nicely done.
Bama either the yield is pathetic or the demand is there either way I guess this saves money I agree with the logic of your initial synopsis but I figured that logic would not rule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlabamaCajun View Post
Like an X3.5

Cost is the major factor and transfer speeds are the other. Could they produce a modular core die, sure but not with an evil beast breathing down your neck. On that X3.5, you have a point, why not just release the X3s with the lame core running in low gear.

The whole pardigm needs to shift and get away from X86 and go with one of the cell designs. Sure a few programs run on quads but how many titles are available in scaleable threads? Also consider the trend to "boxes" that has just about decimated the PC game market.

AMD will soon drop the TDP on the quads and up the speed, we know that's coming. I'll get one of the newer low power AM3s and a mobo later when the timing is right. I may also get a dual if it will run in a AM2+ board.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU

Last edited by Archer0915; 05-21-09 at 05:46 PM.
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 05:40 PM   #8
Zurvan
Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
How on earth does Xbit know Regor is Deneb derivative ?
Zurvan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 08:09 PM Thread Starter   #9
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bima Sylirian View Post
Now it's just how they compared to E7000 & E8000 series in gaming.
As I sold my 8200ES and we know murphy's law, I know what to expect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nzaneb View Post
I like that they utilized the L2 from the disabled cores for Regor. It really helps it to be a contender, even without the added benefit of L3.
Yes actually it is faster than I expected, and with the high multis unlocking on the BE only befits those with older mobos who could not OC it through HT.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
When will they be on the egg? and what are the odd's of getting a cherry like these? I predict aversge OC of ~3.8-9.
I guess around what Kuma's cost them. Launch about CT so early June.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
I like being correct way back here AMD Delays Release of Quad-Core Athlon II.
Gotcha BAMA
Come on take a look at the picture, it's ridiculous they use like half of the die with the 2X0, especially if we consider they harvest via triplescores, and cache via the 8X0 cpus.

Then they launch Caspian same time as these, that's a dualcore, 2MB L2 sounds familiar isn't it ?

Quote:
How on earth does Xbit know Regor is Deneb derivative ?
Well they delayed the quads without L3 so they can not harvest these from those.

The only other way would be to use caspian for these which will also debut on Computex as noted above. The caspian doesn't have DDR3 controller, so up to which do you think is more extreme having a disabled DDR3 controller on a mobile cpu or more than half of the die on a desktop cpu. But why would they only release DDR3 caspian's next year only ?

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 08:29 PM   #10
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroimaho View Post
I guess around what Kuma's cost them. Launch about CT so early June.

Come on take a look at the picture, it's ridiculous they use like half of the die with the 2X0, especially if we consider they harvest via triplescores, and cache via the 8X0 cpus.

Then they launch Caspian same time as these, that's a dualcore, 2MB L2 sounds familiar isn't it ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
Bama either the yield is pathetic or the demand is there either way I guess this saves money I agree with the logic of your initial synopsis but I figured that logic would not rule.
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
YUP BAD YIELD

Thanks for the price and time line guesses.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 08:33 PM   #11
utech
New Member



Join Date: May 2009

 
x2 550BE and 250 sounds good and looks good.

I should wait them rather than 720BE now.

By the way, as we can see, DDR3 doesnt give AMD a big boost on performance, and DDR2 still have long life in the market now, and X2 may targeted at someone who just want to upgrade their old X2 but does not want to change the motherboard.

If you can get an AMD new X2 (can OC to nearly 4G) running on your old motherboard and only cost you around $150, then compare with the upgrade to DDR3's cost. You will easily made the decision.
utech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-09, 09:13 PM   #12
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
That is a great looking chip!

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 12:56 AM   #13
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdawall View Post
NB clocks suck wonder if thats the chip or they just left them alone to oc?
What? 2400+ and 2600 sucks ...?!?!?
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 01:58 AM   #14
KTE
Member



Join Date: Sep 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
I like being correct way back here AMD Delays Release of Quad-Core Athlon II.
Gotcha BAMA
You were both guessing

Although his guessed assertions look to be wrong... we don't own crystal balls, simple as that.

Or do they? I have no idea how this Regor is the same new native dual-core, caches not even tweaked for the core and with the smaller die size. Xbit is showing it to be a salvaged Deneb which means die size will be the same as Deneb, nothing like all the gossip before this. There's no new mask here.

But Xbit won't be saying that for no reason, they'll have reviewers NDA docs explaining it all including the images to use by now.

I can estimate Chew/AMD OC guys posting some OC as soon as they're allowed, which is usually the night before NDA expiry.
KTE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 03:16 AM   #15
Zurvan
Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroimaho View Post
Well they delayed the quads without L3 so they can not harvest these from those.
Regor was supposed to be NATIVE dual core, not harvested Propus.

L2 is cache to individual core. I am really amazed if the design is modular enough to allow L2 from one core be added to another, without any design changes. Since they claim its harvested Deneb, how is that even possible when Deneb fixes 512kB per core.
Even if thats possible, why do Heka and Callisto have only 512kB L2 per core ?
Zurvan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 03:32 AM Thread Starter   #16
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
A lot of things were supposed to be out by now as well propos included so there must be some trouble on their front so Xbitlabs might be right, but as I wrote it above it is launched the same time as of the mobile platform with caspian a dual with 1MB L2 / core I rather believe it is the same die as the mobile than harvested deneb.

Concerning prices at least here it should launch 13K Yen and 11K Yen, so under 130 and 110$ I find them a bit high going triple would be a dozen $ over the 550 and quad only 50$ more.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 08:26 AM   #17
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTE View Post
You were both guessing

Although his guessed assertions look to be wrong... we don't own crystal balls, simple as that.

Or do they? I have no idea how this Regor is the same new native dual-core, caches not even tweaked for the core and with the smaller die size. Xbit is showing it to be a salvaged Deneb which means die size will be the same as Deneb, nothing like all the gossip before this. There's no new mask here.

But Xbit won't be saying that for no reason, they'll have reviewers NDA docs explaining it all including the images to use by now.

I can estimate Chew/AMD OC guys posting some OC as soon as they're allowed, which is usually the night before NDA expiry.
HEY DON'T BUST MY BUBBLE I was feeling good about that But in all reality I don't think it was modular by design but it just worked out that way.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU

Last edited by Archer0915; 05-22-09 at 09:34 AM.
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 03:24 PM   #18
cdawall
Member

 
cdawall's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cypress, tx

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
What? 2400+ and 2600 sucks ...?!?!?

all of the quads i have gotten will do 2900-3100 stable on air with 1.4v NB, now the quads i have used have all been ES chips so that may make a difference (3x945 C1's and a 955 C2)

however my 720BE's (3x) all did 2600-2800 on air 1.5v NB

__________________
Dual AMD Opty 8346HE's
Asus L1N64-SLI WS (Flashed /B)
4x1GB D9GMH
Sapphire 4850X2 2GB
32GB SLC supertalent SSD
cdawall is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-09, 03:40 PM   #19
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
That explains it. I'm not sure I'd want to put that much voltage into it 24/7 ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-09, 03:39 PM   #20
cdawall
Member

 
cdawall's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cypress, tx

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
That explains it. I'm not sure I'd want to put that much voltage into it 24/7 ...
i haven't killed anything so far

__________________
Dual AMD Opty 8346HE's
Asus L1N64-SLI WS (Flashed /B)
4x1GB D9GMH
Sapphire 4850X2 2GB
32GB SLC supertalent SSD
cdawall is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?