• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The Joy of Air Cooling.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ikix

Registered
Hi OCF,

I am pretty new to overclocking and what not but recently i purchased the following setup for £130 of ebay and was well chuffed.

MSI G33-7357 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q660 2.4GHz (overclocked to 2.76GHz) (G0 stepping)
4GB DDR2 RAM (2 x 1GB OCZ RAM) (2 x 1GB cheap DDR2 667mhz RAM)
BFG Nvidia 8800GT OC2 PCI-E 512MB
320GB SATA2 HDD

when i received the system was one of them Philips Freevents i think you can get from Pc world. On loading to windows i decided to check the core temps using HWMonitor.

I was hitting around 49 Degrees Celsius (idle) on a warm day (24C outside) and jumping up to around 59 C under load for a few hours (4hours)on the CPU. Around 70C idle (85C+ under load) on the Gfx card and high 30's for the HDD.

I decided to venture into fan cooling and replacing my stock intel heatsink and fan. As i have a small budget i purchased an Akasa 965 Heatsink and Fan for around £20 and some akasa thermal paste. I also bought a large 22cm fan for the case mod on the side. I also purchased a 80mm fan which i stuck on top of the Akasa 965 fan as i presumed air would flow much faster throught the heatsink cooling the pipes. SO all in all i have 2 fans over my cpu heatsink, 1 x 120mm fan at front of case blowing air in. large 22cm fan on the side of the case. 2 x 80mm fans under the graphics card and 2 small 40mm fans over the HDD.

On viewing the temperatures now (its still 24C outside) using HWmonitor im getting around:

31-33C idle across the CPU (40-43C under load)
low 50's on the graphics card (60's under load)
hdd at around 29C (31-34C when moving large files. Copy Paste, downloading, etc)

1. Do the new temps still seem a bit high?