• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Case Issues

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gamerdad76

Registered
Hello all..I just recently purchased a new case. Raidmax Smilodon. I love it but my temps jumped up between 6 to 10 degrees celcius. Now what I cant understand my old case and Ultra with a couple of 120mm fans stayed nice and cool and this one with dual 120mm fans along with 2 80's doesnt.I even added and extra 80mm I had laying around on the other side. I have rechecked and regreased my cooler and processor thinking maybe I goofed that up but still no go. No info on the fans that came with this case..no part,model or serials or anything on them and Raidmax support isnt the greatest. So what would be the best option new fans? Im not very good at fans except airflow so any suggestions would be great...I was thinking about replacing the CPU fan with a typhoon but they are to noisy from what I hear> Thanks

:welcome: to OCForums.

A few things that stike me right off the bat...
1. Post up your full system specs including and aftermarket additions (cpu/ gpu coolers, etc). Also mention which software you are using to monitor your temps with.

2. How is the wiring situation in the new case? Messy wiring can lead to poor airflow and dead spots that trap heat, resulting in higher temps.

3. Try running the system with the side panel off and pointing a desk fan/ house fan into the case and monitor the temps. If you have a large difference in temps between the side on and off, it can be indicative of poor overall case flow.

4. Likely, the Raidmax OEM fans are crap. If you are looking for a good value fan that has a nice compromise between cfm (airflow) and dba (noise levels) Yate Loons are highly recommended. Available at Petra's if you are located in N. America.