Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

4890... DDR5 or GDDR5... Same or different?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-09, 02:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
JonSimonzi
Member

 
JonSimonzi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Providence, RI

 
4890... DDR5 or GDDR5... Same or different?


Looking at 4890s, I'm seeing the memory listed differently on them. Like this comparison. One lists it as 1gb GDDR5, and the other lists it as 1gb DDR5. I know the "G" just stands for "Graphics", but I just want to make sure they're the same thing, just listed differently on a website. Thanks.

__________________
Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
Heatware
JonSimonzi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 02:30 PM   #2
sandyduff
Great Scot! Member

 
sandyduff's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!

 
Yup... same thing

__________________
4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
MSI 7990
850w Akasa Venom
1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

"we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead
sandyduff is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 02:37 PM   #3
jokers_greg
Member

 
jokers_greg's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonSimonzi View Post
Looking at 4890s, I'm seeing the memory listed differently on them. Like this comparison. One lists it as 1gb GDDR5, and the other lists it as 1gb DDR5. I know the "G" just stands for "Graphics", but I just want to make sure they're the same thing, just listed differently on a website. Thanks.
yep they meant the same thing (GDDR5), maybe type-o

__________________
Primary
3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
,
HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

My OLD WC Project Log
My Heat

Last edited by jokers_greg; 06-11-09 at 03:02 PM.
jokers_greg is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 02:52 PM   #4
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
They mistakenly labeled it DDR5. There is a big difference between DDR5 and GDDR5.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 03:04 PM   #5
sandyduff
Great Scot! Member

 
sandyduff's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quailane View Post
They mistakenly labeled it DDR5. There is a big difference between DDR5 and GDDR5.
True... but in this case it is referring to the same thing, when it comes to graphics cards... its GDDR

__________________
4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
MSI 7990
850w Akasa Venom
1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

"we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead
sandyduff is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 03:07 PM   #6
Wiggy Fuzz
Member

 
Wiggy Fuzz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008

 
has to be a typo. ddr5 doesn't exist yet.
Wiggy Fuzz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 03:13 PM   #7
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyduff View Post
True... but in this case it is referring to the same thing, when it comes to graphics cards... its GDDR
Which is why I said it was labeled wrong.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 03:20 PM Thread Starter   #8
JonSimonzi
Member

 
JonSimonzi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Providence, RI

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quailane View Post
They mistakenly labeled it DDR5. There is a big difference between DDR5 and GDDR5.
That's what I figured. Just wanted to make sure though.

__________________
Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
Heatware
JonSimonzi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 06:40 PM   #9
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
I bet DDR5 exists, it just isn't used in anything mainstream.

The G stands for Graphics (used to be a V, for video, in VRAM), it means essentially that there are two ports on the memory instead of one, which means that on one clock cycle it and both read and write to the ram. DDR and such you can read or write.

You aren't going to find a 48xx with DDR though.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-09, 10:46 PM   #10
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
I bet DDR5 exists, it just isn't used in anything mainstream.

The G stands for Graphics (used to be a V, for video, in VRAM), it means essentially that there are two ports on the memory instead of one, which means that on one clock cycle it and both read and write to the ram. DDR and such you can read or write
There is a lot of confusion about this. DDR4 is currently being designed and is supposed to be out 3 years from now. DDR5 isn't even on the roadmap. While the separate read/write pins are a feature of GDDR3, 4, and 5, there is a lot more to it than that. While GDDR3 is the successor to GDDR2, GDDR4 is the successor to GDDR3, and so on, the numbering is not homologous to any DDR designation. DDR2 memory is actually more advanced than GDDR2 memory, and DDR3 memory is more advanced than GDDR3 memory. Of course there will be some similarities between the two lines as memory technology progresses, but the G is not the graphics version of the desktop memory.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-09, 11:50 AM   #11
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
I'm more interested in memristance memory (search HP -> Memristor) and Quantum spintronic memory (search IBM -> racetrack memory).

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?