Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Annoying laptop problem - No display output

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-09, 02:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
DanFraser
Member

 
DanFraser's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Derby UK

10 Year Badge
 
Annoying laptop problem - No display output


My gfs laptop was sabotaged by her ex. It had a missing display cable which I've replaced. However there is still no display showing, no boot screen or anything. It does work when plugged into a monitor, and a second or so after pressing the power button there is a change in the darkness/brightness in the display which makes me think that power is getting to it, but nothing else. Anyone got any ideas?

__________________
Intel i5-4460 3.2GHz with stock cooler Kingston DDR3-1333 2x4GB
Gigabyte GA-H81M-DS2 MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
2x 120GB Kingston SSDNow! 1xSeagate 1TB Corsair 200R
Corsair CX430M PSU Stock Intel Cool for now
DanFraser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-09, 04:17 PM   #2
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFraser View Post
My gfs laptop was sabotaged by her ex. It had a missing display cable which I've replaced. However there is still no display showing, no boot screen or anything. It does work when plugged into a monitor, and a second or so after pressing the power button there is a change in the darkness/brightness in the display which makes me think that power is getting to it, but nothing else. Anyone got any ideas?
If you look REALLY closely, or even use a flashlight you might notice you can see a windows desktop or login screen. that's not a burnin, that display is showing an image. What's going on is probably your laptop is lacking a backlight, a backlight inverter, or one of the two parts is bad.

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-09, 05:20 PM   #3
MonkeyMhz
Member

 
MonkeyMhz's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009

 
Did her laptop have a 8600M GT? or 8400M GS? If so then welcome to the group of those who have been screwed by a faulty GPU in a laptop.

That's what happened to me, 1600$ down the drain. Bought a Laptop, one day display didn't come on, diagnosis... Dead GPU from the faulty G84/86's. And LG said their warranty doesn't cover it, thanks LG <- Pricks. lol. They wasted my time too, they are like oh, get a analysis from futureshop 80$ later and they propose a ridicolous solution.

I hope its not that, but if her laptop had a 8400 or 8600 it most certainly could be. Do fans come on normal? does the hard drive look like its starting up, does external display work?

__________________
Desktop Rig:
II X4 955BE, XFX 4890 XT, Xigmatek Dark Knight,
Corsair XMS3 2x2GB DDR3 1600, MSI 790FX GD70,
WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair 850w, Coolmaster 932 HAF.


Laptop Rig:
MSI-1721(GT735) Barebones/LTD/Certified Data
AMD Turion X2 Ultra Dual Core @ 2.2Ghz
ATI 3850, 4GB RAM, 320GB Hard Drive, Blu-Ray/DVD/All in One Player, 1920x1200 Native Res, 64-Bit Vista.
MonkeyMhz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-09, 06:33 PM   #4
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyMhz View Post
Did her laptop have a 8600M GT? or 8400M GS? If so then welcome to the group of those who have been screwed by a faulty GPU in a laptop.

That's what happened to me, 1600$ down the drain. Bought a Laptop, one day display didn't come on, diagnosis... Dead GPU from the faulty G84/86's. And LG said their warranty doesn't cover it, thanks LG <- Pricks. lol. They wasted my time too, they are like oh, get a analysis from futureshop 80$ later and they propose a ridicolous solution.

I hope its not that, but if her laptop had a 8400 or 8600 it most certainly could be. Do fans come on normal? does the hard drive look like its starting up, does external display work?
The display is changing in some form or fashion, and it displays to an external monitor. If it was a faulty GPU neither of these things will happen.

I'm almost positive it's a backlight related issue.

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-09, 07:00 PM Thread Starter   #5
DanFraser
Member

 
DanFraser's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Derby UK

10 Year Badge
 
Well I can see something, but I couldn't truly say it was a desktop of some sort. It's just solid rectangle blocks are spread across the screen, and very very dimly too. There isn't any movement, I've had a go getting videos playing etc and it doesn't change

__________________
Intel i5-4460 3.2GHz with stock cooler Kingston DDR3-1333 2x4GB
Gigabyte GA-H81M-DS2 MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
2x 120GB Kingston SSDNow! 1xSeagate 1TB Corsair 200R
Corsair CX430M PSU Stock Intel Cool for now
DanFraser is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?