• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with virus damaged XP Pro

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Athlon Mark

Let me first admit that I'm no expert at this type of stuff.....

Someone brought me a computer that was horribly infected with malware,trojans, and viruses. So bad that I could not access msconfig, Norton Antirus, Malbytes, or pretty much anything else on their system--- not even in Safe Mode.

At a loss, I pulled the hard drive and installed as a slave in my computer (that I knew was well protected). I cleaned it, and removed 32 various nastys including Cryptor virus, FakeAlert.KW, Generic13.JJK, Win32/Heur, SHeurZ.ALQB, Small.AU, and FakeAlert.KT.

Then the bad news--- when I reinstalled the drive, none of the USB ports would work. Unfortunately, it is a Dell Vostro with no PS/2 ports for a keyboard or mouse. Thus, I had no access to the system. In frustration, I gave up and reinstalled Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2 from their OEM disk.

Unfortunately, the problems persist. Now Windows will boot up, but I get a
STOP: 0x0000008E

0000129A - Address 890D48EC base at 890D4000
which from my understanding means something is crapped out in the registry. It will log in while in Safe mode, and then crash before I can do anything.

How can I get this aggravating thing up and running? The guy doesn't want me to wipe the drive if possible, as his Palm Pilot info is stored on it. Help!

Last edited:
I can log into safe mode, and then I immediately get the 60 second warning that Windows is shutting down.

Don't know if it helps any, but the message that pops up (not in Safe Mode) is:
Windows must now restart because DCOM Server Process Launcher service terminated unexpectedly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!