Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Any motherboards that can actually set ram to 1.65v?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-09, 07:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Brando
Member

 
Brando's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandonia

 
Any motherboards that can actually set ram to 1.65v?


My ex58-ud3r is annoying me a little. I can set the ram to 1.64 or 1.66 but not to the 1.65v it's actually rated to run at. Also, setting the ram to 1.64v puts it at 1.632 actual volts but when I put it to 1.66 it fluctuations randomly between 1.648 and 1.664. Dammit! Can any of your boards put out exactly 1.65v to your ram?

__________________
[]Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

HEATWARE RATING
Brando is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 06-22-09, 07:22 PM   #2
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
the board undervolts to just under 1.65 when set to 1.66, 1.67 is even fine.

no mobo is gonna give you exact voltage anyway, even the extreme is 1.64 and 1.66 i wouldnt be concerned about it, most of the ram we have at 1600 doesnt even ned 1.64 to do 7 cas, nevermind 8.

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 07:31 PM Thread Starter   #3
Brando
Member

 
Brando's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandonia

 
Ah ok thanks. I don't think it's an issue but I'm trying to sort out my instability problem. I was almost sure I was giving everything more than enough voltage so the ram came to mind but hopefully the extra notch of qpi volts I added will do the trick. It would be nice to just be able to kkep that 1.648 steady instead of it bouncing up and down like that. It wasn't under load at all, it just does this in idle every few seconds, back and forth, 1.648..1.664...1.648....1.664....wtf. It stays put at 1.632v with the 1.64v bios setting. Oh well I'll try it like this for awhile and see if the qpi voltage does it. Gracias!

__________________
[]Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

HEATWARE RATING

Last edited by Brando; 06-22-09 at 07:36 PM.
Brando is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 08:16 PM   #4
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
unless your checking with a DMM none of it matter anyway. the readings I suggest are off of peoples charts made from the very few reputable reviews and some end users on XS

i7's are hard to get stable at 4ghz+ as in 24/7 no matter what you throw at it stable...

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 08:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
Brando
Member

 
Brando's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandonia

 
It's surely a different beast. It gives no sign of instability before a crash\bluescreen. To this day I've never gotten a prime\linx error. Just random restarts and windows corruption.

__________________
[]Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

HEATWARE RATING
Brando is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-09, 07:30 PM   #6
MrFixit
New Member

 
MrFixit's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North America

 
DDR3 1600 timings


I was curious, how did you set your timings, manually or XMP? I read a Mushkin support thread about JEDEC sPD's only going to 667Mhz, and XMP was required to reach spec'd timings at speed on my 2000MHz. Does your mobo support it?


Last edited by MrFixit; 07-05-09 at 07:51 PM.
MrFixit is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-09, 09:07 PM   #7
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
timings and qpi voltage more importantly

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-09, 01:08 AM   #8
MrFixit
New Member

 
MrFixit's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North America

 
Thats what I'm saying Rattle, with respect to the Timings. If you're not manually setting them, you're relying on the BIOS to read the SPD timings from the memory and configure the chipset to match these timings. But they only program the SPD's to the fastest official JEDEC standard supported. Intel defined the XMP profiles for speeds beyond that, and that's what sets the best timings at speed on my Mushkin.

Since it's fairly new to me, I was wondering what other people's results where with it.

http://www.intel.com/assets/pdf/whitepaper/319124.pdf
http://forums.mushkin.com/phpbb2/vie...php?f=3&t=2169

MrFixit is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?