• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First build, what ya think?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bobinater33

Registered
Ok so this is my first build and did what i could with what i had( post exchange here in korea gave limited options)

AMD Phenom2 940BE (set mulitplier for 3400mhz)
Gigabyte ma790xud4p mobo
Transformer 4 processor cooler
xenon gts 250 1gb/ 754mhz/2200mhz
8 gigs of samsung pc6400
a korean cor3 600w power supply.
zalman fan controller

im planning on swapping the 8 gigs with 4 gigs of ddr2 1033mhz ram now that i found a nice pc shop down in seoul. also change the gts 250 with a radeon hd 4890.

the core idles at 33-37c but under load shoots up to 59c with prime95 so im gonna take the cooler off and melt some sauder into the base and sand it down smooth and reaply the paste.

what would you guys do to optimize this rig with a 500 dollar budget?

btw the wires will be put together alot better i just was anxious to fire her up. the psu would have blocked the cpu cooler fan so i had to cram it down in the bottom with bending slots and using my foot to cram it between there haha.

Attachments

• 006.JPG
    006.JPG
    93.7 KB · Views: 177
  • 004.JPG
    004.JPG
    73.7 KB · Views: 177
  • 005.JPG
    005.JPG
    98.5 KB · Views: 171
Nice build. Your temps seem good I wouldn't worry too much about it. My temps on a Phenom II 920 are 45C @ stock, but it is summer in Florida.

Why would you swap 8GB of DDR2-800 for 4GB of DDR2-1033? Capacity is usually more important than speed when it comes to RAM.

What resolution do you game at, and what games do you play?

PSU is blocking CPU fan? Can you rotate the CPU heatsink?