• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bad cores?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Marshmallow64

I posted this in the PSU section but I am going to post here as well incase its a cpu problem.

I recently switched over to the antec 1200 which has an increase in fans compared to the antec 900.

I started playing around with overclocking again but I can not run anything stable. OCCT crashes in like 5-10 min and same with prime. Even when set at stock volts and speed. The error always says a bad core 1 or bad core 2. Or I get a BSOD. When I had my previous case I ran prime stable for hours and hours and everything was fine, now with the switch I am quite puzzled but need confirmation.

With the specs I have listed below I am wondering if my PSU is the culprit for now having enough power to run everything. My video card is not overclocked. I did a few PSU calculator things online, but they all seem a bit inaccurate and they give me different answers.

I have 7 120 mm fans and a 250 big boy up top.

If you have a mulitmeter you could see what the voltages at the rails are and find the test points on the board.

Maybe try running the system out of the case and see if it still has problems.

BTW how do you like that board? There is a combo deal for the mobo and cpu you have on newegg.

The board isnt so great, its the one thing I wish I just spent a bit more on lol. I would recommend getting the fx one for am3. I heard those have better overclocking potential. That combo deal is quite a good deal though and tempting =).

I'll probably try running it with all the fans off etc tomorrow, but I just wanted to see if anyone knew if a weak psu is the problem.

There's almost never any good way to know 100% what a computer problem is without being right there - it's all guesswork.