Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

MBR vs GPT?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-09, 11:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
SkiBum1207
Member

 
SkiBum1207's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008

 
MBR vs GPT?


Today I picked up a new 1tb Drive and was in the process of preparing it as a media drive (non boot) and saw in the vista disk manager the option of using MBR or GPT. I was wondering what the differences are between these two, their advantages and their disadvantages?

__________________
Intel 3770k @ 4.5Ghz
Asus Maximus Gene Z IV
Nvidia GTX 680x2 SLI
2x 240 gb Sandisk Extreme II SSD (Raid 0)
16gb Gskill RipjawsX @ 1866 MHz
SkiBum1207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-09, 11:43 AM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
MBR = Master Boot Record

GPT = GUID Partition Table

The MBR record (by design) cannot reference more than 2TiB of drive space. I couldn't find any information on what the limit (if any) GPT has. The main place GPT is used now is on large RAID arrays (like the link in my sig). I had to use a GPT format to use my 8tb RAID array.

The only issue with GPT now is that some operating systems can't boot to it. I know for sure XP 64bit cannot.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-09, 11:56 AM   #3
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
You might also want to check out this MS article regarding the GUID Partition Table (GPT)...

Windows and GPT FAQ
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device...e/GPT_FAQ.mspx

Edit: I had this site open in another tab, but forgot to link you to it...

Using GPT Drives
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device...PT-on-x64.mspx


Last edited by redduc900; 07-07-09 at 12:10 PM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-09, 11:58 AM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
There we go, thanks redduc!

Quote:
For Windows Server 2003 SP1 Windows XP x64 edition, and later versions, the maximum raw partition of 18 exabytes can be supported. (Windows file systems currently are limited to 256 terabytes each.)

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 10:26 AM   #5
benbaked
Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member

 
benbaked's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WA

 
Is there a speed improvement with GPT compared to MBR? Thideras I'm looking your way I figure you know my answer. Thanks in advance.

__________________
HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

StaTek is my hero.

R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout
benbaked is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 01:04 PM   #6
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

 
It appears that GPT requires EFI! Otherwise, it can't boot the OS.

I'm not aware of any EFI motherboards at this time.

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Duo E8600 @ 3.900 Ghz (390x10.0)

-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce 9500 GT-Fortron FSP500-60GLN(80) 500W PSU


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 01:08 PM   #7
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
It appears that GPT requires EFI! Otherwise, it can't boot the OS.

I'm not aware of any EFI motherboards at this time.
AFAIK, EFI support is the one way in which Apple hardware is better than generic PC boards. Spend 350% so that can boot from a 4TB array

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970+7950 3GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 01:40 PM   #8
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
My Intel DX58SO supports EFI

I see it on a lot of boards. It just has to be enabled in the BIOS.

Is GPT faster than MBR though? That's an interesting question... anyone know?

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel C2D T8100
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................HP 6910p Notebook
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............DVD-RAM
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................4GB Hyundai DDR2 800
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Intel 320 80GB
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................Titanium Lid
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Various HP AC Adapters
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............ATI X2300 Pro
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......14.1" 1440x900
Windows 8 ProMC.................................................. .............................Windows 8 ProMC
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 04:10 PM   #9
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I don't see why it would be faster. It just has a larger table at the beginning of the drive to support more sectors.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 04:18 PM   #10
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

 
Quote:
It appears that GPT requires EFI! Otherwise, it can't boot the OS.
(According to Microsoft)

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Duo E8600 @ 3.900 Ghz (390x10.0)

-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce 9500 GT-Fortron FSP500-60GLN(80) 500W PSU


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-10, 11:56 PM   #11
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Well maybe it's slower since it has more overhead.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 10:28 AM   #12
Dado
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Falls Church, VA

 
Here is a good read.

"Perhaps one of the biggest pitfalls of MBR-based disks is their potential for corruption of the partition table, a region on the disk that maps sectors to logical block numbers. MBR disks only have 1 partition table to keep track of all the blocks in the partition. If the table becomes corrupt, the entire disk must be recovered from backup. Windows GPT-based disks have multiple, redundant partition tables so that if one is detected as being corrupt, it can self-heal itself from a redundant copy of the table.

Despite the many advantages of GPT-based disks over MBR drives, many vendors still utilize the MBR technology since it is still predominantly used in the real world. GPT disks are gaining popularity with their benefits in terms of partition size, number of partitions, and resilience. Windows Failover Clusters now support GPT-based disks which will broaden their use in enterprise data centers. See related article on Failover Cluster Setup. So while bigger isn’t always better, the many advantages of GPT-based drives make them an attractive alternative."

http://www.petri.co.il/gpt-vs-mbr-based-disks.htm

__________________
See link below for pictures of my Server Rack setup and build log.

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=678711
Dado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 12:15 PM   #13
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dado View Post
Here is a good read.

"Perhaps one of the biggest pitfalls of MBR-based disks is their potential for corruption of the partition table, a region on the disk that maps sectors to logical block numbers. MBR disks only have 1 partition table to keep track of all the blocks in the partition. If the table becomes corrupt, the entire disk must be recovered from backup. Windows GPT-based disks have multiple, redundant partition tables so that if one is detected as being corrupt, it can self-heal itself from a redundant copy of the table.

Despite the many advantages of GPT-based disks over MBR drives, many vendors still utilize the MBR technology since it is still predominantly used in the real world. GPT disks are gaining popularity with their benefits in terms of partition size, number of partitions, and resilience. Windows Failover Clusters now support GPT-based disks which will broaden their use in enterprise data centers. See related article on Failover Cluster Setup. So while bigger isn’t always better, the many advantages of GPT-based drives make them an attractive alternative."

http://www.petri.co.il/gpt-vs-mbr-based-disks.htm
Now THAT right there sells using GPT on any drive that you can! I'm going to have to look into using this on more of my drives. Not that the MBR often gets corrupted but its one less issue to deal with if at all possible.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-11, 12:03 AM   #14
neo668
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hong Kong

 
I just bought a 2TB Seagate to go with my existing 2TB Seagate. I'll be putting them in RAID0. I guess I'll have to use GPT when I format the RAIDed drive. Hope it does not mess up my other drives, especially my SSD.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840
CPU Cooler: Stock AMD
MB: Magic-Pro MP-BA500PRO1 (AMD 890GX+SB850)
Graphic: XFX HD6850 and MSI HD5450
Ram: ADATA DDR-3 1333 2x4GB
PSU: Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 460W
OS: Win 7 x64
neo668 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?