Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Rivatuner fan control issues & GPU2 FAH

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-09, 04:22 AM Thread Starter   #1
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Rivatuner fan control issues & GPU2 FAH


I have Windows 7 RC1 x64, latest Rivatuner, 190.38 nVidia drive, 9600 GSO 768MB.

Rivatuner just can't hold the fan to manual control settings. After I set it, it just reverts back to auto control even though it is still checked off as low level fan control and Direct control. Rebooting has no positive effect.

I don't have this problem with my 9800GTX+ with Vista/2008.

Is there an app that WILL take control of the fan speed and lock it down at whatever I set it at? (100% in summer)

If the card gets much past 70°C, it nans the WU more often.

Update: I turned off that worthless UAC, rebooted and now it seems to work (for now)

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!

Last edited by Audioaficionado; 07-24-09 at 04:32 AM.
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-09, 04:45 AM   #2
Amtrak
Member

 
Amtrak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008

 
Tried EVGA Precision?

__________________
CPU || Core i7 920 (D0) @ 4.0GHz w/1.208v HT on
Cooler || TRUE 120 (lapped)
MoBo || ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
RAM || Corsair Dominator 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 @ 1600MHz 8-8-8-21-1T
GPU || EVGA GTX 275 896MB @ 756/1566/1296
HDD || WD VelociRaptor 300GB (OS), WD Caviar Black 640GB (storage)
Sound || Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
PSU || Corsair TX650W
Case || Coolermaster Cosmos S
OS || Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Monitor || Dell 24" UltraSharp U2410
Amtrak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-09, 10:40 AM Thread Starter   #3
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
The problem with UAC is it didn't learn when I'd say yes to applications. It kept blocking everything every time I tried to start it or most things I put in the startup menu. If it at least had a check box not to ask about that program again, I'd have kept it. It's not improved since Vista, just more subtle and behind your back instead of in your face. It's still an annoyance.

Thanx for the suggestion. I'll take a look at Precision.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-09, 02:54 PM   #4
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
nVidia tools may work as well.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-09, 03:22 PM   #5
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
i haven't had any problems with uac on win7 rc1. turn on my pc, it pops up as soon as im in, click yes, fan speed set, works perfectly.

if riva tuner wont do it the only thing would be to try another program.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-27-09, 11:06 PM Thread Starter   #6
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Maybe it's a card BIOS issue

Looks like EVGA Precision has the same problem controlling the fan as Rivatuner did. RT was unistalled so there wouldn't be a conflict while testing Precision.

Note the fan speed graph won't hold the manual setting and always reverts to auto speed even while it is in manual control mode.

Now what?
Attached Images
 

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-28-09, 12:22 PM   #7
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
why not just control the auto fan control in rivatuner instead of forcing it at a certain percentage?

Also disable UAC

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-09, 05:28 AM Thread Starter   #8
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Auto only give me ~40% which is not enough cooling. I need 100% to keep it around 70C or lower to prevent excessive nans. Ambient is 35C inside and 43C outside.

UAC has been turned off already.

I don't know if this is a PNY 9600GSO BIOS/hardware issue or Windows 7 issue.

RT works peachy on my Asus Commando, 9800GTX+ and Vista/Server 2008 x64

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-09, 08:19 AM   #9
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioaficionado View Post
Auto only give me ~40% which is not enough cooling. I need 100% to keep it around 70°C or lower to prevent excessive nans. Ambient is 35°C inside and 43°C outside.

UAC has been turned off already.

I don't know if this is a PNY 9600GSO BIOS/hardware issue or Windows 7 issue.

RT works peachy on my Asus Commando, 9800GTX+ and Vista/Server 2008 x64


No, I mean control the automatic control. For example, I have mine set on auto but my auto gives me a min 50% fan and it'll increase to 100% by the time the core reaches 80C (chip is about 65C at this point). That's just how I have it set, you can always make the fan ramp up faster then that (so your fans are at 100% by 70C)

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-09, 10:16 AM Thread Starter   #10
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
How did you set the parameters for auto control?

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-09, 12:34 PM   #11
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
I'll let you know when I get home and have it in front of me

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-09, 04:16 PM   #12
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
Alright here it goes:

1. Open up rivatuner > Power user
2. Scroll down to Rivatuner \ Fan
3. Change the value of AutoFanSpeedControl to "3" (this enables you to change the settings if you wish), exit and reopen rivatuner
4. Go back to the Main tab
5. Click on the customize button in the "Target adapter" box
6. A little menu will pop out, click the first option (looks like a video card) named "low level system tweaks"
7. Click on the Fan tab (should be default anyway) and check mark "enable low level fan control" and click on "auto"

here is what the values mean:

Duty Cycle min = minimum fan speed (in %)
Duty Cycle max = maximum fan speed (in %)
Tmin = minimum operating temp (if the GPU core temp is below this threshold, the fan will spin at the min duty cycle you assigned it -- make this number reasonable)
Trange = Controls the relationship between the fan speed and core temp once it surpasses Tmin (I'll explain this in a second)
Toperating / Tlow limit / Thigh limit = automatic system fan control (I'll explain this in a second as well)

First things first:

Set Toperating = 110, Tlow limit = 0, and Thigh limit = 110. By doing this, we will be able to control the automatic fan without having the system butt in by itself.

Next set your min fan speed to whatever you would like (I set mine to where I can just barely not hear the fan ~50%) and set the max fan speed to 100.

For Tmin, it is up to the user to decide. I personally chose 55 as the core won't get above 55C unless it's in some kind of crazy 3d usage. This way, I keep the noise to a minimum and she stays nice and cooler at idle / low usage.

As for Trange we must calculate this number:

Trange = (2*3) * {Tmax-Tmin)/[(Max Duty Cycle - Min Duty Cycle)/100]}

For this equation you must decide what your Tmax will be (basically the number at which you want your processor to run at). Once again select a realistic number. I found that this temperature will make your fans run about 80% or so. The lower the number, the faster then fans will increase in speed, the higher the number the more heat it will take to speed them up. Usually your number will be between 20-40 depending on how much fan you want.

Also note Trange must be an integer number and the number you put in might change automatically. Apparently the system can only accept certain numbers so it'll round to an acceptable one (for example I input 25 and it changes it to 26) so don't be alarmed by this.

Once you input your settings check apply at start up and I believe you have to have rivatuner start at start up as well (though I'm not sure about that).

Hopefully you got all that

Here are my settings:

Duty Cycle min = 50
Duty Cycle max = 100
Tmin = 55
Trange = 20
Toperating = 110
Tlow limit = 0
Thigh limit = 110

By doing that my OC'd GTX stays about 73C @ 80% fans on furmark which is about as intensive as you can get. F@H yeilds about 62ishC core temp and 60% fans so barely audiable

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-09, 07:00 PM Thread Starter   #13
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Alright here it goes:

1. Open up rivatuner > Power user
2. Scroll down to Rivatuner \ Fan
3. Change the value of AutoFanSpeedControl to "3" (this enables you to change the settings if you wish), exit and reopen rivatuner
4. Go back to the Main tab
5. Click on the customize button in the "Target adapter" box
6. A little menu will pop out, click the first option (looks like a video card) named "low level system tweaks"
7. Click on the Fan tab (should be default anyway) and check mark "enable low level fan control" and click on "auto"
No go. It's grayed out and unselectable.

This is after I uninstalled and reinstalled RT on my Asus Commando/S2k8/9800GTX+ that will hold a 100% manual fan speed setting. I also tried to set everything to default in RT before I uninstalled it, but the settings were still in the windows registry after reinstallation as all my overclocking and fan settings were intact. I even selected to completely remove RT and not save any settings during uninstallation.

When my wife gets off the Gigabyte/W7x64/9600GSO-768 system, I'll see if I can get your auto mode controls to work there since the manual controls don't.
Attached Images
   

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?