Memory
Forum Jump

Can't get 4gb ram to work in p5b deluxe

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread

Old 07-30-09, 05:31 PM Thread Starter   #1
Jizzzared

Can't get 4gb ram to work in p5b deluxe

Hi all,

So I've been running 2gb of ram for a few years and finally bought a 4gb (2x2gb) kit of OCZ platinum 8500 low voltage ram. I'm using it in an Asus P5b Deluxe rev 1.

I can get either stick to work flawlessly, but no matter what I try, my computer freezes on initial screen that says p5b deluxe, before I can get to the bios or anything when I have both sticks in.

I've tried the northbridge voltage from 1.25-1.65, relaxed timings to 6-6-6-18, changed memory voltage from 1.8-1.95, tried all the different memory slot options and used just about every combination of these different settings together. Nothing seems to work.

Is it my motherboard? My bios? What could be the issue? I am frustrated, especially because both pieces of ram are working, just not together as I need them to be. Thanks for any help in advance guys!

Oh, and just to give all the information possible, I'm using my p5b deluxe in conjunction with a silverstone st56zf, a geforce gtx260, intel e8500, and ocz vertex harddrive.

Silverstone ST56ZF
yamaha rx-v2400, crown xls-402
Salk/Ellis 1801's, Rythmik F15 15" servo sub
Jizzzared is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-09, 09:05 PM   #2
CGR

10 Year Badge

Did you set your machine to all default settings? The memory may not like your OC... Also, is there a memory compatible list for that board? Could be its not 100% compatible.

HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-09, 09:21 PM Thread Starter   #3
Jizzzared