• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need distro recommendation for older computer

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Itchie

Can someone recommend a Linux dist (preferably with the gui) which will work with my computer? The computer is a 486SX with 25 mhz, 20 mb ram, 850 mb hd, onboard video (also have 1mb isa card if necessary), cheap clone isa sound card, 20x ide cdrom, and 14.4 isa modem.

The only purpose of this computer will be to teach myself Linux. I am completely new to Linux, but I am not concerned with ease of use, in fact the harder it is to set up and use, the better, because it is the best way to teach myself Linux. I have been playing with computers since I was a toddler in the early 80's and I tend to grasp things pretty quickly.

Also, the 850 mb hd is not recognized as 850 mb but as 528 mb (this is a limitation of my motherboard). Is there a way to make the computer recognize my hard drive as a 850 mb hd without partitioning it into 2 seperate drives?

Lastly I am on 56k dialup and would prefer the distribution to be small enough to download in a reasonable amount of time. If not, I suppose I won't mind paying ten bucks for the CD.

Anyways, what's the best distro for me?

Hmm... Slackware or Zipslack? And when you install, don't choose to install GNOME or KDE.

www.slackware.com

Btw, once Linux boots, it should be able to see and use the entire 850mb of the hard drive.

I would go with any decent distro but a GUI is almost out of the question. You are looking at fvwm if your lucky.

Mind you, try getting X working but, yes, don't even TRY KDE or GNOME. KDE 1 runs slow on a P120 with 24MB RAM!

Would Blackbox work in that situation? That's the most low-end one i know of, besides TWM, which is like useless, lol.