Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

hi could some what tell me what they think of this vid card

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-09, 11:14 AM Thread Starter   #1
wowgamer
Registered

 
wowgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2009

 
hi could some what tell me what they think of this vid card


128MB ATi FireGL V3100 Video Card
be strait ford people i need to know i its good ir if it sucks
wowgamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 11:19 AM   #2
Quigsby
Member

 
Quigsby's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fargo, ND

 
Um, it sucks?

It's older, it was used for CAD-related stuff. Great in it's time for it's intended purposes but nothing to game with and not current. What more to say?

__________________
Quigsby
Rig 1: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L / Intel E8400 w/ Rosewill cooler / Antec 900 / 2GBx2 OCZ SLI PC800 / EVGA 9600GT / Cooler Master 750W
Rig 2: abit IP35-E / Intel E8500 w/ HDT-S1383 / Chenming case / 2GBx2 G.Skill 1066 / 60GB OCZ Agility + WD640 / EVGA 8800GS / Fortron 500W Blue Storm
Heatware
Quigsby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 11:19 AM   #3
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Its an old workstation card from 2004 if you want it for gaming there are better choices

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 11:21 AM Thread Starter   #4
wowgamer
Registered

 
wowgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2009

 
na i was just looking fo a computer to serf with so i could free up stuff on my older gaming computer till i got a job
wowgamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 11:22 AM   #5
hinderpits
Member

 
hinderpits's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: largo fl

 
That card is antiquated, what is your goal? (better gaming, faster machine,better multi tasking)

__________________
hINdErPiTsintel core2quad 9550@4.2(lapped)*8 gb mushkin pc 8500 *EVGA 285GTX stock*asus maximus 2 formula r.o.g.*custom liquid(apogee gtz, mcp 655b, 2x120 rad in push/pull mounted outside, xspc 5.25 bay res, Swiftech MCW-NBMAX 1/2" tubes) ultra 650 watt psu*2x120 gb wd black*1 terabyte wd black data hd*liteon 20x dl dvdrw litescribe*sb audigy*3xindustrial 80mm fan 4600rpm/55cfm*6x120mm fan(2xkazemaster)*Scythe KM02-BK fan controller*sunbeam transformer atx full *windows xp pro 64/vista ultimate 32 dual boot* asus 24" 1080p/dvi
THOSE WHO DESIRE TO GIVE UP FREEDOM TO GAIN SECURITY WILL NOT HAVE NOR DO THEY DESERVE EITHER ONE-BENJAMIN FRANKLINBE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE IN THE WORLD-GHANDIASK ME ABOUT FREE CUSTOM MACHINED PARTS FOR YOUR RIG
hinderpits is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 11:30 AM   #6
Scott9027
Member

 
Scott9027's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC

 
If you're only surfing the web it would be sufficient, but so would an onboard solution.

Do you already have the card? I wouldn't buy it for that purpose because you could find something cheaper that would suffice. Does your motherboard have onboard video?

__________________
Rig In Transit:->
ASUS M4A78-E
AMD PII 945
OCZ Platinum 4GB
XFX HD-4890
Patriot Warp 32GB
CORSAIR 550VX
Antec 300
Acer X233
Scott9027 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 12:16 PM   #7
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
I'm not positive, but I believe the V3100 was the equivalent of a Radeon X600. It would be OK to use if you already have it, but I wouldn't pay more than about $10 for one if you're looking to buy it (and even then I'd be rather disinclined to choose that over a more modern solution). Otherwise, you'd be better off just spending $25 for a Radeon 4350 or something. Assuming, of course, that you don't have onboard video with your motherboard.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-09, 12:19 PM   #8
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wowgamer View Post
na i was just looking fo a computer to serf with so i could free up stuff on my older gaming computer till i got a job
If you just want a computer to surf with buy any piece of trash VGA card with 64MB of memory or more.

Doesn't your motherboard have integrated video/audio?
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?