• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD OverDrive - Stability Test

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator
I'm new to quad-cores, so I'm looking for the best method of OCing...

How effective is the stability test in AOD?
Which test(s) do you use and how long do you run them?

I got sick of using P95 as it's not really a "somewhat" of a stability test. I like to run short tests when I'm doing coarse-tweaking, and then I'll use p95 for fine-tweaking. I could run P95 for hours on small FFT and then blend will fail immediately, even if my RAM is set to easy (low/loose) settings. I only like P95 when I'm getting close to the end (the wall I stop at).

With single- and dual-core machine, I would use SuperPi 4M for coarse-tweaking, 32M for a bit finer tweaking, and then P95 blend for real stability testing. This combo would get me to my end OC within 2 days usually. Right now I've been messing with my Phenom II for several days... 2 different machines (one mine, one for my bro), and I'm getting sick of using just P95.

I'd use SuperPi, but 4 instances?? I don't want to open up 4 different ones and try to click them all at once... or should I?

Anyway, I figured I'd give AOD a try, but what method (as far as tests and time interval combos) is best? Or... is it just a waste of time to use AOD's stability test?

I'm a patient person, but I will always take the quickest route out if it's within reason.

OCCT or Linpack will be quick and dirty.

I'll have to download both of those... have heard of OCCT many times, never used it. Maybe heard of linpack once...

Any trick to them? What tests are the quick ones, etc?

THANKS!! :)