Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Error Message with Wolfenstein 09

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-09, 11:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
JDawggS316
Member

 
JDawggS316's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US

 
Unhappy Error Message with Wolfenstein 09


Okay I could really use some help for this game as my I just bought this game for a dear friend of mine.

After installing Wolfenstein 09 I select Play and the following message says something like, "Unable to initialize video system."

After reading more this is what I discovered in one of the reports:

"Unable to create D3D Device, error code 0x8876086c"

The system specs are:
Dell Experion
Windows Vista (32-bit)
CPU: 2.93 GHz Intel Cor 2 Duo (320 MB of video memory)
RAM: 2 GB
GPU: Intel G33-G31 Express Chipset Family

***I've run updates on the Device Manager for the Intel G33 chipset and installed K-Lite codecs and still no luck. Plus I have the latest Direct X version.

__________________
Build Status: I have kids
JDawggS316 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-09, 11:49 PM   #2
Godfather1138

 
Godfather1138's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: AR-USA

 
SO he/she is trying to run this on the on-board video of a G33 mobo?

__________________
OCF Folding Team Site
OCF Podcast RIP...
Folding for "Dub" and everyone else who didn't have a choice... 1*

HEAT
"stock is just bad for your perfomance"
-Drinkyoghurt
Godfather1138 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-09, 11:51 PM Thread Starter   #3
JDawggS316
Member

 
JDawggS316's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US

 
Yeah...Is this bad? lol

He's had the PC for no more than a year I believe.

__________________
Build Status: I have kids
JDawggS316 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 12:05 AM   #4
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
Probably because the game does not support integrated video, or that one specifically. Some games are now specifically stating they do not support those or even laptop versions of GPUs. I bet it would run like crap anyway to the point it wouldn't even be playable.

There's a reason these are printed ON the box. This is like a sin in PC Gaming.

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 12:10 AM Thread Starter   #5
JDawggS316
Member

 
JDawggS316's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US

 
It didn't come in a box - just the DVD case.

__________________
Build Status: I have kids
JDawggS316 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 12:13 AM   #6
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
I'm confused. Because even the DVD cases within the sleeve have the system requirements printed on them. Especially the fact that this branded with Games For Windows.

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 12:16 AM Thread Starter   #7
JDawggS316
Member

 
JDawggS316's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US

 
So does it look like I'm going to need to upgrade and add at least an NVIDIA VGA?

Or will any drivers update work?

__________________
Build Status: I have kids
JDawggS316 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 07:38 AM   #8
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
I would say you're gonna have to put a vid card in there.

Quote:
Video Card: 256MB NVIDIA(R) Geforce(R) 6800 GT or ATI Radeon(TM) X800
Dont need to spend a fortune to run it.

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 10:31 AM   #9
Leviathan41

 
Leviathan41's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: @Home, Folding

 
Yeah, you will need a video card. First make sure the machine has an available PCI-E slot and then you can pick up a cheap card that's above the minimum requirements.

Good luck!
Leviathan41 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 10:54 AM   #10
KillrBuckeye
Senior Member

 
KillrBuckeye's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livonia, MI

 
I would be surprised if the game couldn't run on GeForce 8200/8300/9300 or Radeon HD3200/4200 integrated graphics. These integrated graphics chips actually provide "playable" framerates at low resolution and quality settings, even for many relatively new games. For example, both chipsets can run ET:Quake Wars, and Wolfenstein 2009 is based on the ETQW engine.

However, the integrated graphics on Intel G33 are crap compared to the ones I listed above. It's not surprising to me that this particular chipset can't run Wolf 2009.

__________________
KillrBuckeye

Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

http://www.killrbuckeye.com
KillrBuckeye is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 10:54 AM   #11
technoViking
Member

 
technoViking's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

 
wait i'm confused, this game is out already?

__________________
Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
Sound
: .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
PSU: .........Enermax 460W
Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

One must remember...
The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!
technoViking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 10:58 AM   #12
lemings
Member

 
lemings's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas

 
Yes, not sure where to get it as far as retail stores go though.

__________________
i7 920||||||||||||Razer Lachesis
XFX GTX285||||||||||||Wacom Intus2 6x8
6GB G.Skill||||||||||||Logitech Illum
WD Cav x2/Raptor/T7k250||||||||||||Dell 2209WAx2
GA-EX58-UD5||||||||||||Asus Xonar Essence STX
PC Power & Cooling 600watt||||||||||||Sennheiser HD280
lemings is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 10:58 AM   #13
Leviathan41

 
Leviathan41's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: @Home, Folding

 
Yes, it was released yesterday.
Leviathan41 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 11:09 AM   #14
technoViking
Member

 
technoViking's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

 
Oh boy.
I hope steam has this bad boy

__________________
Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
Sound
: .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
PSU: .........Enermax 460W
Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

One must remember...
The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!
technoViking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 03:27 PM Thread Starter   #15
JDawggS316
Member

 
JDawggS316's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US

 
Alright thanks everyone for the help.

As some of you stated before I should have read the system requirements but at Wal Mart they sell them with just the DVD case (and NO there are no requirements to be found).

The gift was for my Dad so I could have inspected his PC first.

HOWEVER, lol, I did purchase an NVIDIA 9600 GT, installed it into his PC and the game works like a charm!

You guys rule.

__________________
Build Status: I have kids
JDawggS316 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-09, 03:36 PM   #16
Leviathan41

 
Leviathan41's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: @Home, Folding

 
Awesome, that was fast! Glad you got it working.
Leviathan41 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-09, 01:45 PM   #17
nightelph

 
nightelph's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal

 
Damn I didn't know this came out.

__________________
Ivy Quad, Asus Z77
GTX670, Vertex4 256GB
Dell 2408WFP, Mackie MR5 Monitors
Heat
nightelph is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-09, 08:03 PM   #18
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDawggS316 View Post
Alright thanks everyone for the help.

As some of you stated before I should have read the system requirements but at Wal Mart they sell them with just the DVD case (and NO there are no requirements to be found).

The gift was for my Dad so I could have inspected his PC first.

HOWEVER, lol, I did purchase an NVIDIA 9600 GT, installed it into his PC and the game works like a charm!

You guys rule.
9600gt should run that game quite well... hope your dad is enjoying it

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-09, 08:21 PM   #19
nightelph

 
nightelph's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal

 
Bought it from gogamer.com $38.90.

__________________
Ivy Quad, Asus Z77
GTX670, Vertex4 256GB
Dell 2408WFP, Mackie MR5 Monitors
Heat
nightelph is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?