• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

QX9650 Underclocking Problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rainman_24

Registered
I'm running a QX9650 on an Intel x38 mobo. I'm fairly new to overclocking but I thought I'd give it a shot. I was aiming for 3.7ghz (I only have air cooling).

I hate to sound like an amateur, but could somebody guide me as to what I'm doing wrong? Even though logically the cpu should be at 3.7ghz, when in Vista the CPU is underclocked (even though powersaving and EIST are turned off). Even when under load, the cpu will only go to 3.2 ghz apparently because the multiplier is set to 9, when clearly it is not.

Here's what my BIOS looks like:

IMG_0273.jpg
IMG_0272.jpg

When I boot up Vista:

Underclocked-1.jpg

Yeah, sorry, bit of a picture mixup. How does one disable C1E or Speedstep... I don`t see it in bios.

Some bioses don't have it as an option, or it's hidden in "secret" bios pages.
Being an intel mobo, it probably just doesn't exist.

Somewhere in the advance or performance section. maybe under something called CPU settings or anything like this.

you know its kind of a good thing that it does it. run prime95 for 2 mins with CPUZ open and if your CPU dosent go to 3.7 then something else is going on.

Here's the weird thing... when stressed the clock will increase and the host clock frequency is recognized, but the multiplier will only go from 6x to 9x, instead of 10... it's as if this underclocking feature has set values for itself. I've looked all through the bios, and still nothing related to C1E, EIST, or Speedstep that I can't see or haven't disabled. Any ideas out there?

Problem.jpg