• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

software for easy OCing?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sage0030

what would somone recommend for overclocking AMD phenom 2x4 955? im new to this, software, somthing that will do the ratio's for me,

You should be overclocking in teh bios my friend. However AMD Overdrive I believe is a decetn software utility. But again, do it in the bios and learn what you are doing!!!!!!!!

If you need help working in the BIOS, this is the place to learn.

So :welcome: to the OCF forums, how may we help you?

I would first suggest reading my articles (check sig) to learn more about the Phenom II. There is an in depth description on how to overclock your Phenom II in the BIOS.

The reason behind doing BIOS OCing rather than Software OCing is a stability issue. The Software can only interact with the hardware so much.

If you need help working in the BIOS, this is the place to learn.

So :welcome: to the OCF forums, how may we help you?

I would first suggest reading my articles (check sig) to learn more about the Phenom II. There is an in depth description on how to overclock your Phenom II in the BIOS.

The reason behind doing BIOS OCing rather than Software OCing is a stability issue. The Software can only interact with the hardware so much.

I went to microcenter and got this really big cooler :santa:. set it up on the cpu , I just want to oc it the right way, I dont want to burn it out, I thought oc was going to be easy, if I wanted to go to 3.6 what settings would I use in the bios? mulitplayer voltate etcc. anyone have this same cpu? by the way I have the phenom 2x4 955.

Every chip is different. Read Dolk's guides, get a solid start and we can help!!! Settings from PC A with your same chip may not work on your PC. Its not that easy sadly.