Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Poor Video Quality on Windows 7 X64 RTM

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-09, 09:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
Poor Video Quality on Windows 7 X64 RTM


Have you guys noticed the poor video quality in Wondows 7? On XP the same videos are crisp & clear but on W7 I noticed more jagged edges & general lack of clarity with the same video. Any improvements that can be done that you guys know of? VLC shows the worse video quality than WMP.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-09, 10:36 AM   #2
SeanBest
Member

 
SeanBest's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Harrisonburg, VA

 
I've been watching plenty of 720p video on my Windows 7 build and it looks the same as it does on my Linux build. Not noticing any issue. No special codec packs or anything installed. Just using VLC.

__________________
HEAT
Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64
SeanBest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-09, 08:14 AM Thread Starter   #3
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
Its a known issue with W7 X64, hardware configuration that affects it is comepletely random. Bright colours show alot of pixelation & fast movement makes it come out as well,it looks like bad interlacing sometimes & lack of pixel smoothing for lack of a better term.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-09, 02:07 PM   #4
FliGi7
Member



Join Date: May 2008

 
Bump for the same issue. I've posted on many forums about it and there's still no answer to date. It's incredible this type of widespread issue (although quite random at this point) has yet to even be slightly addressed by any sort of fix.
FliGi7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-09, 06:30 PM   #5
oc_newbee
Member



Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: BAY AREA, CA

 
I've notice the same problem with my tv turner program (TotalMedia) when install on windows 7 from vista x64. At default vista looks real smooth quailty wise but on windows 7 it started to look like it all pixelated or something. I think it's more on the incompatibilties with certain software players and windows 7.

Here's how I fixed my problem:I right click on properties for that particular program and choose the compatibility tab. Under setting, select "disable desktop composition".
Just click ok to exit.

After selecting that for me the video quailty came out nice and smooth just like it was on Vista. Again I'm not sure if this will fix any of you guys problem but figure it wouldn't hurt to just try it. Thought I'd share this since it hasn't been brought out yet. Good luck and hope this can help solve some issues about Windows 7.

Edit: Earlier I mention to select "disable visual theme", I'm sorry I actually mean to select the one below it which is "disable desktop composition"

__________________
Desktop - Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 Fully Hell-Modded
3.0C @ 3.824 255fsb 1.625 vcore | SP-94 w/92mm Delta, Tiger1 NB HS/Fan | 1.5gig XMS PC3500 BH-5 @1:1 510mhz 2-2-2-5@3.37vdimm | Softmod Sapphire 9500np 440/346 w/SLK-900u(Vgpu@1.75v, Vddr@3.25v Hell-Modded) | TBSC Sound Card, NEC 1760NX-White | 2X WD 80g SE 8mb cache Raid 0, 1x 60g Maxtor storage | Antec TP550W @3.75v, 5.35v, 12.35v Hell-modded

3DMark2001SE - Now hit 23032 | 3DMark2003 - 6912


Laptop -Compaq R3240US | A64 3200+ | 512mb|4x Nec 5500a DVD writer | G4 440go 64mb | 60g hard drive | Win XP-Home

Last edited by oc_newbee; 11-02-09 at 10:00 PM.
oc_newbee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-09, 07:10 PM   #6
usp8riot
Member

 
usp8riot's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: mid-America

 
In control panel....power options.....multimedia settings...there are options such as "optimize video quality" and "optimize power savings". Would that have anything to do with it?

__________________
CPU - Phenom II 1055T x6 @ 4.1ghz (24/7 OC settings @ 3.0ghz) + Hyper 212 HSF
Motherboard - Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Memory - Corsair Vengeance 8gb (SPD timing)
GPU - MSI 560ti (Flashed to HAWK)
PSU - Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Audio - Nvidia HDMI/Onkyo HT-590 Receiver
OS - Windows 7 Home Premium
Case - Antec 900
usp8riot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-09, 08:29 PM Thread Starter   #7
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
As some of you guys have already found out, its an issue with the video card drivers & the OS affecting Direct3D rendering according to the VLC developer. VLC_1.03 has addressed majority of this issue but interlacing is still below par. A force shift to OpenGL was the work around if you wanted to keep the Aero interface.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-09, 12:01 AM   #8
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
The game Plants VS Zombies does not utilize AA with Vista/7. =(

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?