• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is topping out at 54c to high for this cpu?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sage0030

im overclocking this phenom 2x4 955 at 3.6 the voltage is at 1.37 and it tops out at 54c core temp,? im all open for idea,s im really new to this, I know to keep raising and lowing vcore untill its stable, I have it stable, but it tops out at 54c?? maybe I need to take off heatsink and reaply paste?

55c is my opinion on the overclocking heatwall, and what heatsink and method of applying thermal paste did you use?

i woudl've thought 54c load is pretty good. even though we're talking about an AMD cpu here, my Core 2 Duo loads at around 50c as well.

what heatsink are you using? getting some mid range/high end air cooling will drop your temps a lot.
my stock CPU cooler loaded my cpu at stocks speeds at 55c. when i bought a TRUE my load temps dropped to 30c load.

54°C is about as high as you want to go if that is the temperature under load, meaning the CPU has 100% usage. Running Prime95 or OCCT can load the CPU 100%. Many have asked and so will I, what CPU cooler are you using???
i woudl've thought 54c load is pretty good. even though we're talking about an AMD cpu here, my Core 2 Duo loads at around 50c as well.

what heatsink are you using? getting some mid range/high end air cooling will drop your temps a lot.
my stock CPU cooler loaded my cpu at stocks speeds at 55c. when i bought a TRUE my load temps dropped to 30c load.
I doubt the Intel quad owners see anywhere near those temps at 400 MHz over stock speeds without an after-market cooler ...

room temp is around 70f, just put a new fan and heatsink on it, using arctic silver 5, using this cooler, http://www.crazypc.com/products/v10-50911.html