Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

New Members Post here,...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-02, 08:24 PM   #21
minoukat
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

10 Year Badge
 
new here ! (sorry for the other post ! ). Just wondering somehting. is it better to run folding graphical in the background ? And how much time is it supposed to take to crunch a Sidechain protein on a K6-2 ?

__________________
The only thing you should expect is the unexpected.
minoukat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-02, 09:15 PM   #22
dvj81
Member

 
dvj81's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix

 
Just started up with the team. Forgot to set it to team 32 but
after reading this thread, I reset it. Where do I go to look up my WU's? Is there a way to set it so it auto starts when Windows 2K is started?
dvj81 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-02, 09:26 PM   #23
Ploaf
Senior Member

 
Ploaf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Struthers, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by dvj81
Just started up with the team. Forgot to set it to team 32 but
after reading this thread, I reset it. Where do I go to look up my WU's? Is there a way to set it so it auto starts when Windows 2K is started?
Welcome to the Team!
If you are the only one who logs into the system then the installer should have placed a shortcut in the startup folder so that it starts when windows starts. If you aren't the only one logging in then it can be run as a scheduled task that starts whenever the computer is started, no matter who logs in. THe only thing with that is that you won't be able to view the client running, but it works.

__________________
I hope this signature isn't offensive to anyone.
Ploaf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 10:59 AM   #24
FIRESTARR357
Member

 
FIRESTARR357's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
Hi guy's i've put my 1900+ to work.Pretty cool this is really neat that ya can help with you pc.
FIRESTARR357 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 12:25 PM   #25
Joanne
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by dvj81
Just started up with the team. Forgot to set it to team 32 but
after reading this thread, I reset it. Where do I go to look up my WU's? Is there a way to set it so it auto starts when Windows 2K is started?

link this and put on your favorite's


http://folding.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/teampage?q=32




Joanne
Joanne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 08:57 PM   #26
dvj81
Member

 
dvj81's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix

 
Thanx Joanne and Ploaf. I take it you have to have at least one WU before you show up on the list? About how long does a WU take? My AMD 750MHz (oc'd to 798) has been up for 24hrs and only 93/100 done.
dvj81 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 09:14 PM   #27
Ploaf
Senior Member

 
Ploaf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Struthers, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by dvj81
Thanx Joanne and Ploaf. I take it you have to have at least one WU before you show up on the list? About how long does a WU take? My AMD 750MHz (oc'd to 798) has been up for 24hrs and only 93/100 done.
You will have to complete one wu before you show up in the stats.
As for the time it takes... It depends. Each wu is different.
There is thread dedicated to determining the times for each wu here - http://forums.oc-forums.com/vb/showt...threadid=58254

There are times for various proteins and cpu's and it should help to give you a good idea as to whether your system is being all it can be. It is a long thread though.

__________________
I hope this signature isn't offensive to anyone.
Ploaf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 09:30 PM   #28
dvj81
Member

 
dvj81's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix

 
You're right about it being a long thread. I'll have to read it over the weekend. Thanx
dvj81 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 10:43 PM   #29
Joanne
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2002

 
Ploaf is our folding expert. and I'M glad he is. I finnally found my name on the list. wooooo 61... this current one - well I just don't have the time to know everything. I'm reading up on all the mobo's and chips. trying make up my mind on my next computer. this will probably take me 6-7 months. ( i'm slow and budget is low )


Thanks Skip for sending me all the e-mails.



Joanne


Joanne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-02, 07:08 PM   #30
SBeaver
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden

 
Just join a week ago i think, got 6wu's or something like that.
Since I cant use the idle function my cpu temps are not affected by this so why not i thought.
Update the members list plz!

Keep foldin'.... !!!!!!
SBeaver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-02, 06:13 AM   #31
belorsch
Folding Monk

 
belorsch's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to the Fold SBeaver

__________________
Folding User Stats
My Heatware
belorsch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-02, 08:26 PM   #32
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
I don't wanna sound like an idiot or something but what's folding@home ?
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-02, 08:45 PM   #33
Ploaf
Senior Member

 
Ploaf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Struthers, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Folding@Home is a distributed computing project, the sole purpose of which is to figure out how proteins fold and misfold in the body so that we can come up with medicines/treatments to help prevent diseases that are caused by misfolded proteins. This task requires amazing amounts of computational power. The projects are divided into smaller tasks which are sent out to users on the internet to take advantage of the power of thousands of individual pc's all connected to the internet. The power they derive from this method is greater, although different in function and ability, than most supercomputers and is useful for this sort of task. In this project we allow, in the case of Folding@Home, Stanford University's Pandegroup(the people running the project) to send information that needs to be calculated to our computers. The computer performs the calculation and sends the work back to Stanford where it will then get more work to complete. The results from the project will be released to the public and it is proving useful to IBM, NASA and a few other folks and has received the endorsement of Intel.
We have gathered into a team that competes with other teams to see who can do the most work. The science of the project is serious. The teams and competition are just something to help keep your interest. Hope that helps. If not then more information can be found at http://folding.stanford.edu

__________________
I hope this signature isn't offensive to anyone.
Ploaf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-02, 10:49 PM   #34
deez
Member

 
deez's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Austin, TX

10 Year Badge
 
just joined...need somehting to do with my idle CPU when I cant get WU's from SETI

__________________
heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=6394
deez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-02, 04:23 PM   #35
Dan M
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK

 
Just joined, already done 3 Sidechains on my new 1ghz Duron (Morgan core). Already overclocked to 1.12 and once i unlock it im pretty sure i can get 1.2 out of it (9x133).

In the original Folding@Home project i folded for HardOCP but now i much prefer Overclockers (site and forums). I was using my old celeron 500 (now broken) to fold for [H] and now i've got my new PC im folding for Overclockers...

F@H seems a pretty good way to 'burn in' a CPU...
Dan M is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-02, 08:45 PM   #36
Tweaked!
Xtreme refugee

 
Tweaked!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh.

 
Well, I'm not sure if this helps, but I've joined using my poor old Compaq proprietary piece of s__t. Its a p3 800 w/ 256 mb sdram. Not sure what it truly clockin @, can't even figure out who the actual manufacturer was on the mobo. but I've at least made sure it has plenty of cooling. (btw- the Compaq is only temp till I get my mod up n runnin). Please let me know if I did it right and enter me on the next updated members list. Thanx!

Members, keep foldin!
Tweaked! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-02, 12:24 PM   #37
Preachr46
Member

 
Preachr46's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lost in Middle America, OH

 
Just joined today. Was running Seti for a long time!! Got tired of seeing little result. Figured this would be a much better use of computer time. You never know, we might find a cure for something important. I'm currently running a factory unlocked Athlon 1.4 t-bird@1547mhz. Hope I can contribute a lot of WU's to the team, it will be running in the background all the time except when i'm playing games.
Preachr46 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-02, 08:24 AM   #38
SpyderMatrix

 
SpyderMatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: VA

10 Year Badge
 
k just joined my name is Spyder team 32 is that how i was supposed to do it

__________________


<-----------New Avatar for OC
F@H2 Team
Member of the 3d Mark 2001 team

My Heatware

Last edited by SpyderMatrix; 02-24-02 at 08:30 PM.
SpyderMatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-02, 10:13 AM   #39
belorsch
Folding Monk

 
belorsch's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by SpyderMatrix
k just joined my name is Spyder(www.overclockers.com) is that how i was supposed to do it
You can drop the (www.overclockers.com) from your name if you wish just make sure the team # is 32 regardless. The 32 is what makes you a member of overclockers.com. Welcome to the Fold

__________________
Folding User Stats
My Heatware
belorsch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-02, 05:01 AM   #40
Tweaked!
Xtreme refugee

 
Tweaked!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh.

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Dragonbud
Hi everyone,
Just installed folding @home on my p4.

folding @home still fairly new to me.
I read the faq, but after working all day today, my eyes are hurting and most of it didnt absorb.

just a few more questions..
if i close it (ex. power failure), do i lose all the wu progress or does it just stop where it is and continues when i run the program again?


does the program itself turn the completed wu's by itself or do i have to do it manually?

my cpus are only "on-line" when i'm @home, i have a 9-5job.
also have a 633mhz celeron @ work, will also stat using that to fold tomorrow.

foldfoldfold



Welcome aboard, Dragonbud!

The program is automatic, It only has to be online to send and receive completed work and new work. If you have a power failure or turn your rigs off, it will resume where it left off when you power back up.

__________________
E8400@3.4 w/ Apogee w/c
Asus P5B Deluxe
8gb pc2-6400 @ 475mhz 1:1 5,5,5,15
Asus GTX570 DCII
PC P&C 610w Silencer
2 WD sata 3.0 raid array 0



My Heat
Tweaked! is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?