Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Has anyone ever attempted a pc within a pc using an atom?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-09, 03:58 PM Thread Starter   #1
mas5acre
Member



Join Date: Mar 2009

 
Has anyone ever attempted a pc within a pc using an atom?


Most of us don't need supercomputers to check our email, just to game. So my question is why aren't there pcislot computers using atom technology yet, I mean this whole "green" fad going on, why isn't there an atom based pci slot solution to use when power isn't needed? Might be a nice side project... or maybe a 5.25 bay computer...

Last edited by mas5acre; 09-30-09 at 04:07 PM.
mas5acre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-09, 04:00 PM   #2
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mas5acre View Post
Most of us don't need supercomputers to check our email, just to game. So my question is why aren't there pcislot computers using atom technology yet, I mean this whole "green" fad going on, why isn't there an atom based pci slot solution to use when power isn't needed? Might be a nice side project...

I use a HP 5720 thin client which runs XPe. However I have installed a full version of XP on it. Its an AMD 1000mhz with 1 gig of RAM, and a 4gig Flash.

By default it has 256MB of RAM and 512MB flash.

I have it connected in the bedroom on the 32" LCD, wireless keyboard and mouse. Works great. Even can stream from netflix.

Uses 26 watts. I never shut it off..
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-09, 04:13 PM Thread Starter   #3
mas5acre
Member



Join Date: Mar 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeteck View Post
I use a HP 5720 thin client which runs XPe. However I have installed a full version of XP on it. Its an AMD 1000mhz with 1 gig of RAM, and a 4gig Flash.

By default it has 256MB of RAM and 512MB flash.

I have it connected in the bedroom on the 32" LCD, wireless keyboard and mouse. Works great. Even can stream from netflix.

Uses 26 watts. I never shut it off..
Not what I meant, but I do love the wattage of your computer! What I mean is taking a small space atom computer and building it into a 5.25 bay, or pci slot/dual slots. I was thinking about this when the only reason I turned on my computer today was to check my bank balance.
mas5acre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-09, 04:19 PM   #4
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mas5acre View Post
Not what I meant, but I do love the wattage of your computer! What I mean is taking a small space atom computer and building it into a 5.25 bay, or pci slot/dual slots. I was thinking about this when the only reason I turned on my computer today was to check my bank balance.
Not a bad idea. You could do it easily. Just port the wires out the back through a gutted PCI slot cover and get a switch to use your I/O devices with it.

Go for it. Can't be hard.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 11:38 AM   #5
curtis1552
Member

 
curtis1552's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio

 
It's not PCI based, but it's the same concept
I don't think it's even on the market yet, news was released about a week ago.

The DFI Hybrid
P45-ION-T2A2
My Thread.
TweakTown

__________________
Desk Puter - Foxconn C51GU01; AMD X2 3800+ - Dual 2.0Ghz; 1.5gb RAM; Nvidia 6600GT pcie; Win 7 64 bit / Mint 9
NetBook - Acer Aspire One D250: 160Gb HDD: Win 7 / Backtrack 4 / Mint Debian / MeeGo
Server Puter - Supermicro X5DAE; Dual Processor - E7505 XEON - Dual 2.66Ghz; 2gb RAM: Nvidia 6600GT agp; Win 7 32 bit / Mint 9.
HEAT
Restarting a computer is not how you fix a problem...
I suffer from
Fenestraephobia
I don't think being turned on while turning it on is too high on the creepy list - freakdiablo
curtis1552 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 11:49 AM   #6
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Thermaltake Mozart PC cases are designed to run a full size ATX and an ITX board in the same case. Think that is as close as you are going to get.

It would be great if we went back to the older style of motherboards. Where it is more of a backplane and upgrades did not require replacing the entire thing just some cards on it.

Guess this would be too expensive to reimplemetn though and make it harder for nubs.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 01:57 PM   #7
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 04:29 PM Thread Starter   #8
mas5acre
Member



Join Date: Mar 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeteck View Post

WOW very cool, usually the best ideas someone's already came up with... The first one's a celeron socket not an atom, can't seem to find anything on the third one...linky?

Last edited by mas5acre; 10-01-09 at 04:42 PM.
mas5acre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 08:14 PM   #9
denz_1
Member

 
denz_1's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hamilton NewZealand!!

 
Some motherboards have built in linux that boot in 5 seconds.
Less time on = less power
denz_1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 08:32 PM   #10
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by denz_1 View Post
Some motherboards have built in linux that boot in 5 seconds.
Less time on = less power
That's hardly power-saving. It is still running your high-power CPU and GPU, your 16-disk RAID 10, etc.

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 08:43 PM   #11
Ben333
Folding for Team 32!

 
Ben333's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Hampshire

 
Single board computers, like ones in the form of PCI cards were pretty expensive everywhere last time I checked, something like at least $200. Even when you pop one of those in, you'd need a KVM to jump between that and your main rig. Might as well mod an inexpensive atom mini itx system into your case and use a KVM, or just have a separate desktop that's an atom based system. You could probably share the power supply (all rails) easily enough, except you would need to be able to disable power to the main system when you wanted it off.
Ben333 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 09:04 PM   #12
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mas5acre View Post
WOW very cool, usually the best ideas someone's already came up with... The first one's a celeron socket not an atom, can't seem to find anything on the third one...linky?

1. Celeron

2. Photoshop

3.Looks like some sort of Network Card with an option CPU upgrade.

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 11:42 PM   #13
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r-y3...eature=channel

just saw this on youtube.

A PC in a keyboard. Atom based.
THAT'S cool. There's your secondary for low end use, you can output it to your monitor and no doubt USB it to your main rig for use as a regular KB then use both systems simultaneously, the atom system on the KB screen, or on the main screen when needed by simply switching inputs.. Assuming you have a screen that allows multiple inputs. Otherwise a switch would be needed..
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-09, 07:32 AM   #14
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r-y3...eature=channel

just saw this on youtube.

A PC in a keyboard. Atom based.
THAT'S cool. There's your secondary for low end use, you can output it to your monitor and no doubt USB it to your main rig for use as a regular KB then use both systems simultaneously, the atom system on the KB screen, or on the main screen when needed by simply switching inputs.. Assuming you have a screen that allows multiple inputs. Otherwise a switch would be needed..

Now, that my friend is sweet, and very useful!
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-09, 03:18 PM   #15
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Perhaps this is finally that piece of computer hardware that can get you laid? We always knew it was coming.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-09, 03:34 PM   #16
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-09, 08:41 PM   #17
don256us

 
don256us's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bridgman, MI

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstutman View Post
1. Celeron

2. Photoshop

3.Looks like some sort of Network Card with an option CPU upgrade.
100% agree. Great call on your part.

__________________
Core i7-920 @ 3.66 | EVGA X58 SLI | 2x 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD RAID 0 | 1.5 TB WD Green | 6x4GB DDR3 1600 CAS 8 |2 X R9 280XFolding
AMD 1035T X6 | Win 7 Pro |Zalman 7000 Cu | DDR3 1333 (16 GB) | 500 GB SATA x 2 | 240 GT | Not folding.
AMD Athlon II x3 440 @ x4 B40 | Win SBS 2008 | 120 GB | DDR3 1600 (4 GB) | ATI 4200 | 2 x DVD-DL | Folding.


Folding User Stats
My Heatware
Fold for team 32.
don256us is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-09, 08:52 PM   #18
Boulard83

 
Boulard83's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec - Canada

 

__________________
Boulard83 @ OvercloQc.com
BTTB
• Gigabyte Z87X-OC • WCed 4770k • 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz cas8 • Zotac GTX 780 • Asus Xonar Pheobus
OS Toshiba Q 256gb • Games 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0 • Corsair HX850 • Tecnofront HWD BenchTable • Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

HTPC • Gigabyte H77m-D3H • G2020 • NT-06 • 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz • Asus GTX 650 TI • SB Recon3D
X25-m 80gb • Enermax 550w • Lian Li PC-C60B

Server • Asus Z77m PRO • 2500K • NH-C12P • 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
Agility 4 128gb • Corsair CX430M • 2X 1TB Black • 1x 2TB green

KatPat • Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 • FX-8320 • PH-TC14CS • 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz • GTS 450 + Accelero L2 Plus
Samsung Evo 120gb • Corsair HX750 • Bitfenix Survivor White • Asus VE247H
Boulard83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-09, 12:59 AM   #19
curtis1552
Member

 
curtis1552's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis1552 View Post
It's not PCI based, but it's the same concept
I don't think it's even on the market yet, news was released about a week ago.

The DFI Hybrid
P45-ION-T2A2
My Thread.
TweakTown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulard83 View Post
Tweaktown gave the original story.
Still can't find it on DFI's site.

Nifty concept.

__________________
Desk Puter - Foxconn C51GU01; AMD X2 3800+ - Dual 2.0Ghz; 1.5gb RAM; Nvidia 6600GT pcie; Win 7 64 bit / Mint 9
NetBook - Acer Aspire One D250: 160Gb HDD: Win 7 / Backtrack 4 / Mint Debian / MeeGo
Server Puter - Supermicro X5DAE; Dual Processor - E7505 XEON - Dual 2.66Ghz; 2gb RAM: Nvidia 6600GT agp; Win 7 32 bit / Mint 9.
HEAT
Restarting a computer is not how you fix a problem...
I suffer from
Fenestraephobia
I don't think being turned on while turning it on is too high on the creepy list - freakdiablo
curtis1552 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-09, 03:08 AM   #20
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
not to sound/be rude but you havent heard of VIA? if you havent you should check out there Pico-ITX boards. what is interesting is to compare two retail SSF pc's, one Atom, one VIA. both small but the atom is closer to fitting in a 5.25bay, but then if you wanted another pc. why not just mod a pocket pc or smart phone, with the smart phone at least you could use the bluetooth to use wireless keyboard/mouse. smartphone would use way less power then a atom or via setup.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?