• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Noob

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

htdog

Registered
I just bought a brand new rig and I am looking to overclock it. Its hardware is ready for it, I am just new at the overclocking process. I would like to learn as much as possible so that I can run my computer overclocked 24/7.

Here is the hardware:

i7 920 @ stock 2.67ghz
Noctua NH-U12
ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
OCZ Plantnium 2x3gb (6gb) DDR3
GeForce GTX 285
Corsair 750 PS
COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP - it has 3 fans

I figure that with the Noctua cpu cooler I should be able to easily OC the CPU to 3.67ghz and run that 24/7.

One question I do have is what should my CPU fan speed be set to and my CPU temperature is currently 36C/96.5F, CPU fan speed at 1360rpm. Is that hot for a CPU with an after market cooler on it? What should my CPU temperature be to safely overclock it?

1. You should be able to get to your goal of 3.6-3.7Ghz 24/7 with that cooler.
2. Nope, thats not hot at all, BUT idle temps dont matter really at all. What are your load temps (Run Prime95 Torture test, Small FFT for 15 mins and report back).
3. You want to keep that CPU under 80C when stress testing. That way in your normal usage, you wont see but 70C at most which is perfectly acceptable for 24.7 operation.

Do you have a C0 or D0 stepping 920? And assuming your OCZ Platinum is 3 x 2GB of DDR3-1600, give these settings a try for 3.8GHz (200 x 19)...

Code:
CPU Voltage: 1.25V 
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.9V
DRAM Freq: 1603 Mhz
UCLK Freq: 3209 Mhz
QPI Link Rate: 7218 Mhz
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage: 1.35V
IOH Voltage: 1.20V
IOH PCIE Voltage: Auto
ICH Voltage: 1.20V
ICH PCIE Voltage: Auto
DRAM Bus Voltage: 1.66V

Load Line Calibration:Enabled
CPU Differential Amplitude: 0.800mV
CPU Clock Skew: Delay 100ps
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disable