Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

ASUS P6T Delux V2; Ram Channels

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-09, 12:46 PM Thread Starter   #1
Norcalsteve

 
Norcalsteve's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fort Huachuca, AZ

 
ASUS P6T Delux V2; Ram Channels


I know this may be a topic for the Ram section, but no one has given an answer that uses this P6T board. On this particular board there is a note in the manual that says:

"Due to INTEL spec definition, X.M.P. DIMMS and DDR3- 1600 are supported for one DIMM per channel only"

what does this mean specifically? is it for XMP OC's or OC's with DDR3-1600mhz ram? I interpolate this as if i was to put "6gigs of Corsair DDR3-1600mHz" (or any 1600mhz) ram then it could only be 2 gig sticks in channels A1, B1 and C1. However, if i wanted 12 gigs of ram, how would it work since i could only place one DDR3-1600 per channel to get?

or am i just not comprehending my reading? I am a newbie to the deeper fundamentals of the inter-workings of computer "tuning" and OC'ing.

__________________
Current setup: Surface Pro 2
No new rig yet :(
My former Folding Rig: 4P AMD 6174, clicky the build log for the details HERE!!!!! She may be gone, but I will build her again!!! :p
Norcalsteve is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 10-01-09, 01:14 PM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Underneath that statement in the manual, it says...
Quote:
According to Intel spec definition, DDR3-1600MHz is supported for one DIMM per one channel only. ASUS exclusively provides two DDR3-1600 DIMM support for each memory channel
Then below that under the QVL for DDR3-1600MHz compatibility, it lists...
Code:
Corsair TR3X6G1600C8D (XMP) 6GB (kit of 3) DS 8-8-8-24 1.65v
... and also 6GB of the C9 version (also XMP) at 9-9-9-24, also DS (double-sided). As far as running 12GB, it looks to me as though you'd be limited to DDR3-1333MHz.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 05:01 PM   #3
milomak
Member



Join Date: Jan 2008

 
are you asking whether that means 2x1600 + 1x1333 per channel? Is a channel 3 RAM sticks in the say yellow/green/whatever colour depending on board?

So are you asking would all the RAM in a channel run at 1333?

I know next to nothing so forgive me if this makes no sense.

__________________
Motherboard - Asus P6T Deluxe v2
CPU - i7 920 @ 3.8Ghz
CPU Cooler - Corsair H50
RAM - 6GB DDR3-1333 (Super Talent 3x2GB - WA133UX6G8)
Videocard - GTX295 1792MB
Chassis - Aerocool Zerodegree Gaming Chassis
PSU - Corsair TX850W
milomak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-09, 10:49 PM Thread Starter   #4
Norcalsteve

 
Norcalsteve's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fort Huachuca, AZ

 
K, got ya! thanks for the reply, I am still learnin, and these forums have been real helpful! the ram i curently have does not support XMP, but i a, wanting to practice OC'ing with these i have now, then move to an XMP set to see and practice the interworkings of my overall system...

Thanks again!

__________________
Current setup: Surface Pro 2
No new rig yet :(
My former Folding Rig: 4P AMD 6174, clicky the build log for the details HERE!!!!! She may be gone, but I will build her again!!! :p
Norcalsteve is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-09, 10:32 PM   #5
HDCHOPPER

 
HDCHOPPER's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
^^^SPAM

__________________
Working on my I7 Asus P6T SE build
feel free to donate lol
HDCHOPPER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-09, 12:14 AM   #6
Damir Poljak
Member

 
Damir Poljak's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary, AB

 
I still don't get it
Damir Poljak is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?